Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo

This was one of the optional products that I was surprised to receive as part of my Influenster Violet Voxbox. Whenever I fill out surveys I always say that I have very dry skin as well as a dry scalp, so I should have screened out of the dry shampoo pool of candidates. But I’m game for anything so I went ahead a tested what I could on myself and what I couldn’t on a willing subject.

Similar to other dry shampoos on the market, the Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo is packaged in an aerosol spray canister.

I took offense at the scent which I found to be quite overpowering. I’m not sure I can describe what it smells like except to say it’s fresh, clean, and very sharp to my nose. The scent continues to linger long after the spray dries and sets. I sprayed some onto my hand and, try as I might, it took several washings of my hand to get the smell off my skin. Not a fan.

I sprayed some of the dry shampoo on my hand and at first it looked clear and very wet, which I assume is due to alcohol in the product, but then it quickly dried to a matte, white powder. When I rubbed the powder into my skin it completely disappeared. It basically reminds me of a translucent face powder in that respect but for the hair.

I asked my mother to help me out with this review. She has an oily scalp and washes her hair every other day so she made an excellent test subject. Before using the dry shampoo, her hair was looking very flat but I wouldn’t say greasy, just not newly clean. I sprayed a little bit of the product directly onto her scalp and combed it through her hair. I must mention that my mom has jet black hair and I had to make sure to comb the dry shampoo through her hair really well or else I noticed a bit of white residue. Right after spraying, her hair looked less oily and even had some extra volume but not even 15 minutes later her hair was flat again and this time it looked a bit clumpy. Her hair felt like it was caked with product even though I couldn’t see it. Meh. And the smell! That pungent, overpowering “fresh” scent. She had to wash her hair a.s.a.p.

This was my first experience using a dry shampoo and probably my last. I’m simply not the target for this sort of product and I don’t completely understand it. I gather that in theory it’s supposed to be convenient but in practice I think it’s more trouble than it’s worth. I’d rather suffer with greasy hair for an extra day or two and wear my hair up in a bun/ponytail until I could properly wash my hair.

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo (wet)

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo (dry)

