Sally Hansen Triple Shine Nail Color – Reef-Raf

Sally Hansen Triple Shine Nail Color – Reef-Raf

What they say:

Sally Hansen Triple Shine Nail Color®

New Triple Shine™ Nail Color! Daily defense from water and wear. Get ready for the shiniest nails ever! Water to workout, day in and day out, nothing will dull these nails. Available in 30 shades.

Sally Hansen Triple Shine Nail Color – Reef-Raf

Sally Hansen’s new Triple Shine nail polishes come in coffin-shaped packaging that’s rather unique but a little morbid. The black outer-cap has the brand name printed on it and it pulls apart easily from the inner-cap that’s attached to the brush.

The complimentary bottle of nail polish that I received in my Influenster Violet Voxbox is in the shade 210 Reef-Raf, a bright pink creme.

The brush is a wide paddle-style that’s wider and thicker/denser than the brush that comes in Sally Hansen’s Complete Salon Manicure nail polishes. I don’t mind wide brushes — I really like the brush that comes in NYC’s quick dry nail polishes — but the Sally Hansen brushes are just too wide. My pinky nails are on the narrow side and the Triple Shine brush is actually wider than thy are, so it took some work to get those nails painted.

The biggest problem I had, though, was with the stem of the brush. The plastic stem is actually the same width as the opening of the bottle and when I pull the brush out of the bottle and try to scrape off the excess nail polish that’s on it, it’s impossible because the flat part of the stem can’t make contact with the lip of the glass bottle. Consequently, as I’m painting my nails, all of that excess nail polish on the stem drips down onto the brush bristles and onto my nails making for a sloppy application.

The formula is quite thick. I used two coats (no base, no topcoat) and it was decently opaque but a little streaky, a problem I attribute to the brush. I had a bit of difficulty getting the brush to apply the nail polish evenly. I had to go over certain areas more than once because the brush seemed to drag the nail polish away and left it looking patchy.

As for the finish, it’s glossy but not extra glossy compared to other drugstore nail polishes. I would still recommend using a good shiny topcoat on top of the Triple Shine not only for the finish but also to extend wear. I noticed chipping along the edges of my nails by the second day. I must say, however, that although the nail polish isn’t as super shiny as promised, what shine it had lasted the entire time I had it on my nails. I didn’t notice too much dulling, if any.

All in all, while I love the color I don’t think I’ll be running to the store anytime soon to get any more Sally Hansen Triple Shine polishes. The formula’s kind of goopy and the brush design proved problematic for me.

Sally Hansen Triple Shine Nail Color – Reef-Raf

Sally Hansen Triple Shine brush vs. Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure brush

Sally Hansen Triple Shine brush vs. Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure brush

Sally Hansen Triple Shine Nail Color – Reef-Raf

