tarte bambeautiful Amazonian clay eye shadow palette – Sew The Seeds

tarte bambeautiful Amazonian clay eye shadow palette – Sew The Seeds

Ever since I tried tarte’s limited edition Aqualillies palette I’ve been curious about their other eyeshadows but before splurging and committing myself to one of their huge holiday palettes I wanted to test the waters some more with something smaller. The neutral, earthy colors of the bambeautiful Amazonian clay eye shadow quad in Sew The Seeds caught my eye and seemed like the perfect way to further dip my feet into the world of tarte eyeshadows.

Sew The Seeds is made up of four warm, earth-toned shades: Shimmering Olive, Matte Softest Peach, Shimmering Gold, and Matte Espresso. According to tarte this is supposed to be a half matte, half shimmer quad but I found that Matte Espresso was the only truly matte, shimmer-free shade. Even when I look at Matte Softest Peach in the pan, I can see particles of shimmer winking up at me.

Frankly, the Aqualillies shadows were okay but not mind blowing and in general I’ve heard mixed reviews about tarte’s eyeshadow formula, so before testing Sew the Seeds I lowered my expectations in preparation for the worst. Luckily, it isn’t the worst. The textures of the shadows aren’t buttery or creamy like LORAC or theBalm shadows. These have more of a powdery but not chalky appearance and feel on the skin. Pigmentation is decent and somewhat buildable.

Overall, I like but don’t love Sew The Seeds. I find the colors very flattering on my skin tone and it’s a nice, basic quad to have on hand. For a softer look I use the shadows alone, and to amp up the color payoff a little bit I use a primer underneath. If you’re going for an intense, bold eye you should search elsewhere. Sew the Seeds is better suited for creating a subtler, more natural eye.

tarte bambeautiful Amazonian clay eye shadow palette – Sew The Seeds

tarte Sew The Seeds – Shimmering Olive, Matte Softest Peach, Shimmering Gold, Matte Espresso

