Random Blush Comparisons to Tarte Off The Cuff Palette

Clockwise from top: Tarte Off The Cuff, Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Blush SPF 30 in Natural, Tarte Thankful, Tarte Treasured, Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess Sea Star

I’m still in the process of trimming down my makeup stash but as far as my blush collection goes I think I’ve made a lot of progress. The Tarte Off The Cuff palette turned out to be a much better purchase than I could’ve ever imagined. In hindsight I’m so glad I opted for it instead of the NARS Guy Bourdin cheek palette which, based on the swatches I’ve seen, appears to be cooler and sheerer than the Tarte palette.

This past week I’ve been swatching a lot of my blushes and purging anything that’s too similar to the blush colors in the Tarte palette. Not only are the Tarte blushes long-wearing and pigmented, the packaging’s so slim and compact and, in terms of storage, it’s such a space saver. I’ve already eliminated so many of my blush singles in its favor.

A few weeks ago I ordered the QVC-exclusive Tarte holiday blush set with four limited edition colors (Honored, Imagined, Treasured, and Meaningful). Not knowing it was part of a set, I had originally purchased Treasured off of a blog sale. Upon swatching, it turned out to be a little too similar to the Estee Lauder Sea Star bronzing blush that I love — but without shimmer and not as peachy as Sea Star — so I sold it off. Compared to Tarte Darling, Treasured isn’t as pinky coral.

Later on I discovered the QVC holiday set which I ended up buying in its entirety because I was curious about the other three shades in the collection, so now I own Treasured once again. If anyone’s interested in purchasing it, it’s up for grabs on my blog sale right now. Brand new.

Left to right: Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess Sea Star, Tarte Treasured, Tarte Darling

I found Tarte Thankful on another blog sale. I believe it’s also exclusive to a holiday set but I don’t know which one. This one turned out to be very similar to my Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Blush SPF 30 in Natural although you’d never know it looking at the blushes in their pans. PF Natural looks like it would be a lot more muted than Thankful but on the skin they’re close enough that I can’t justify keeping both. The only major difference is Thankful contains some fine shimmer. Tarte Crave is a much deeper, redder pink than Thankful. Tarte Dollface is a cooler pink.

Left to right: Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Blush SPF 30 in Natural, Tarte Thankful, Tarte Dollface, Tarte Crave

I also picked up the Tarina Tarantino Dollskin cheek palette recently in hopes that I’d love it as much as Tarte’s. Unfortunately, I only really like two out of four of the blush shades. I didn’t even bother swatching the palette because the bottom two pink shades appear very cool so I don’t think they’ll be flattering on me.

Tarina Tarantino Dollskin Palette, Tarte Off The Cuff Palette

