Stila Eye Shadow – Kitten

Stila Eye Shadow – Kitten

I made one last minute purchase before the end of Sephora’s annual VIB sale and that was Stila Kitten ($18).

Stila’s Kitten eye shadow has a major cult following, so much so that Stila has created various offshoots (e.g. lip gloss, luminizer, etc.) of their iconic shade. Curiosity over the Kitten hype is what originally induced me to buy their In The Light palette. I thought I was so clever buying the palette because not only does it include Kitten but nine other shades. A better value, right? But when I finally held the palette in my hands and saw all of the colors I knew that other than the lightest shades I’d never reach for the palette. Deep, dark shades just aren’t “me” so In The Light didn’t turn out to be a good value for me after all. I ended up selling it on my blog sale and buying the Kitten single instead. I’m so glad I did. I love it!

Kitten is a very shimmery pink champagne that translates as frosty/metallic with an eye brightening effect on the lids. It’s what I’d hoped the Sephora Prisma Chrome shadow looked like on me but didn’t. If you remember the Sephora shadow was a little too pinky greige for my tastes.

The texture, like all of the Stila powder products I’ve tried so far, is extremely soft. Kitten is pretty pigmented so I recommend using a gentle touch with it. Rather than swirling or swiping at the powder with a brush which will undoubtedly create a powdery mess in the pan, I recommend just lightly touching your eyeshadow brush to the surface of the powder to grab some product and then patting it onto your lids.

Stila Eye Shadow – Kitten

Stila Eye Shadow – Kitten

I thought I would be able to find a Kitten dupe in my stash but it turns out that Kitten is actually quite unique in color and finish. I couldn’t find a color match and as for finish it’s even more shimmery than the shimmerific Mary Lou-Manizer. As you can see from the swatches, Mary Lou-Manizer is lighter and more golden compared to Kitten.

Stila Kitten Eye Shadow (left), theBalm Mary Lou-Manizer (right)

Stila Kitten Eye Shadow (left), theBalm Mary Lou-Manizer (right)

Stila Kitten Eye Shadow (left), theBalm Mary Lou-Manizer (right)

Last but not least I swatched Stila Kitten against Stila’s luminizing duo in Kitten, one of those Kitten-inspired products that I mentioned earlier.

In the first set of swatches, I mixed the two halves of the Kitten luminizer together and compared it to the Kitten eye shadow. Not even close. The luminizer is a deeper bronzed pink and less shimmery.

Next I swatched the two halves of the Kitten luminizer separately and compared them to the Kitten shadow. The left half of the luminizer duo is a very light pink with an almost satin finish and the right half of the luminizer duo is a very shimmery bronze. The Kitten single is the frostiest out of all three.

I’m always happy when I can’t find dupes in my stash. It helps me justify purchases and my ever-expanding collection 😀

Stila Kitten Eye Shadow (left), Stila All Over Shimmer in Kitten (right)

Stila All Over Shimmer in Kitten (left), Stila Kitten Eye Shadow (right)

Stila All Over Shimmer in Kitten (left half), Stila All Over Shimmer in Kitten (right half), Stila Kitten Eye Shadow

