Maybelline Color Sensational High Shine Gloss – Luminous Latte, Nude Compliment, Iced Chocolate

Maybelline Color Sensational High Shine Gloss – Luminous Latte (top), Nude Compliment (middle), Iced Chocolate (bottom)

I’ve really been enjoying the Maybelline Color Sensational High Shine Glosses lately.

I was in Walgreens two weeks ago and came across a full display of Maybelline’s limited edition Summer 2013 collection. Yes, that’s right, I said summer collection…in October. I guess someone at that particular store didn’t get the memo that it’s already Fall.

There were blushes, bronzers and nail polishes in the display but the only thing that caught my attention was a subtly shimmery peachy nude lip gloss. I’ve tried Maybelline’s regular Color Sensational glosses before and liked them well enough but never the newer Color Sensational High Shine glosses so I decided to grab one out of curiosity.

I have to say I love the packaging. It’s simple and sleek with no unnecessary brand logo blasted across the front. Frankly, on looks alone, it could pass as any mid/high end brand gloss.

The texture’s lovely. If you love Revlon Super Lustrous or NYC Liquid Lip Shine glosses I’m almost positive you’ll dig the Maybelline High Shine glosses. All three feel very similar. They’re neither too thick nor too thin. The consistency’s just right in my opinion without that dreaded sticky feeling (ahem, MAC).

The scent of the High Shines reminds me of orange sherbet. There’s definitely something sweet and citrusy going on but it fades away pretty quickly once you have it on your lips.

The limited edition shade I purchased at Walgreens is called Nude Compliment and I love it! This is probably the closest I’ve ever come to finding my ideal peach gloss. If it didn’t contain shimmer it would be perfect but the shimmer’s very subtle and refined so it’s not a big deal.

Besides the great texture I was most impressed by the pigmentation. It’s not a totally opaque gloss but the color payoff’s pretty good.

Maybelline Color Sensational High Shine Gloss – Luminous Latte (left), Nude Compliment (middle), Iced Chocolate (right)

I loved Nude Compliment so much that the next time CVS ran a BOGO sale on Maybelline I decided to grab two more High Shines in the shades Luminous Latte and Iced Chocolate ($8.49 each). I wanted to see if there was anything in Maybelline’s permanent collection that resembled Nude Compliment since it’s limited edition, and Luminous Latte and Iced Chocolate appeared to be the most similar. Verdict? They’re in the same color family but aren’t dupes.

Luminous Latte is a litle more pink than Nude Compliment and it has a slightly frosty finish. Iced Chocolate appears to have a bit more mauve/brown on my skin with a less refined silver shimmer compared to Nude Compliment. You all know my weakness for orange and peach by now so it should come as no surprise that Nude Compliment is the standout for me. Regardless, all three glosses are really great with a super glossy shine and definitely worth checking out.

Maybelline Color Sensational High Shine Gloss – Luminous Latte (top), Nude Compliment (middle), Iced Chocolate (bottom)

———-

Revlon Nude Lustre (left), Maybelline Luminous Latte (top), Maybelline Nude Compliment (middle), Maybelline Iced Chocolate (bottom)

For science I decided to compare the three Maybelline High Shines to the beloved but discontinued Revlon Nude Lustre gloss since the shades and textures are all pretty similar.

I loved Nude Lustre back in the day but after digging it out of my stash and trying it again I’m underwhelmed. My memories made it out to be a lot better than in actually is. I still enjoy the texture but I guess I either forgot or never realized how sheer Nude Lustre is. Or perhaps glosses have come a long way in terms of pigmentation since Nude Lustre’s heyday. Whatever the reason I think that if a drugstore company were to release a gloss like Nude Lustre now, people would probably complain about its sheerness and lack of pigmentation. Nowadays there are so many glosses that have a similar texture or level of shine but better color payoff that Nude Lustre isn’t all that unique or special anymore. It was good for its time though.

Revlon Nude Lustre (top), Maybelline Luminous Latte (left), Maybelline Nude Compliment (middle), Maybelline Iced Chocolate (right)