Milani Color Statement Lipstick – Nude Creme

Milani Color Statement Lipstick – Nude Creme

Milani Color Statement Lipsticks cost $5.49 per tube. I had 5 CVS ExtraCare Bucks set to expire so I decided to give one of the shades a try.

I had planned on getting the shade Naturally Chic but unfortunately some inconsiderate individual had already opened and swatched the last tube, so I grabbed an unopened tube of Nude Creme instead.

Under normal circumstances I would’ve overlooked Nude Creme because based on the color block on the bottom of the the lipstick tube this shade would appear to be a pinkish nude that leans slightly cool. Fortunately for me the color block is not an accurate representation and the actual lipstick inside the tube is warmer. FYI: In case you’re wondering, it’s just an empty colored piece of plastic that’s glued onto the bottom of the tube; there’s no lipstick inside of that.

Nude Creme is right up my alley. It’s not a concealer type nude but more of a pinky nude in the “My Lips But Better (MLBB)” vein. There’s absolutely no shimmer or glitter in this lipstick. It has a soft, semi-matte finish and opaque coverage.

I know that some people have described the Color Statement formula as moisturizing but I would disagree. I guess I’ve grown accustomed to Lipstick Queen and Too Faced La Creme lipsticks which are very creamy, moisturizing, emollient lipsticks that have more slip. Even Revlon Lip Butters feel more moisturizing and cushiony than many drugstore lipsticks. After trying those lipsticks, traditional lipsticks all feel waxier, drier and stiffer in comparison. Although the Milani Color Statement delivers full color it feels like a regular lipstick to me, so I’m not as blown away as some people are by the formula.

The Milani lipstick also possesses a rather strong, artificial watermelon scent. That actually reminded me of my Jordana lipsticks which smell exactly the same and, since Milani and Jordana are sister companies, I wondered if there’s a Jordana dupe.

As I’ve perhaps mentioned before, I’m trying to whittle down my makeup stash and keep only the items that I really love. Out of the many, many Jordana lipsticks I used to own I’ve only kept two MLBB shades: Natural and Nude. I kept them mainly because I love the colors and it turns out that one of them may be a dupe or at least really, really similar.

Jordana’s website describes Natural as a pink nude and Nude as nude peach; however, I’d say Nude is a warm pink nude and Natural is similar but slightly deeper and pinker. Neither contains any shimmer.

Out of the two lipsticks, Jordana Nude is the closest to Milani Nude Creme in swatches — perhaps a hint pinker — and is virtually identical on the lips. The texture of the Jordana lipstick feels like the Milani Color Statement except just a smidge waxier and they smell exactly the same. The only differences are the Color Statement formula has a slightly creamier shine compared to the Jordana and is more opaque. You can achieve full color with the Milani lipstick in one pass whereas you might have to go over your lips 2-3 times with the Jordana but that might not be a huge problem considering the price difference. The Milani Color Statement lipstick costs $5.49 per tube while the Jordana can be found for $0.99 each at many dollar stores. For less than a buck I don’t care about layering my lipstick.

I also pulled out two other MLBB lipsticks in my stash: Revlon Pink Truffle and Too Faced Spice Spice Baby. Neither of these are dupes. Pink Truffle is too brown and Spice Spice Baby is a deeper, warmer, peachier pink. Both of these lipsticks also have a much glossier finish compared to the Jordana and Milani lipsticks.

Milani Color Statement Lipstick – Nude Creme

Right to left: Jordana Natural, Jordana Nude, Milani Nude Creme, Revlon Pink Truffle, Too Faced Spice Spice Baby

Right to left: Jordana Natural, Jordana Nude, Milani Nude Creme, Revlon Pink Truffle, Too Faced Spice Spice Baby

Right to left: Jordana Natural, Jordana Nude, Milani Nude Creme, Revlon Pink Truffle, Too Faced Spice Spice Baby

One thought on “Milani Color Statement Lipstick – Nude Creme

Comments are closed.