Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed – Rose Gold

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Rose Gold: The Expectation

I recently made Sephora VIB status and to celebrate having spent so much money on makeup in a given year, I decided to treat myself by spending some more. Bad girl.

I’d had my eye on Becca’s new Shimmering Skin Perfector (SSP) Pressed powder in the limited edition holiday shade Rose Gold ($38) so I opted to use my one-time use VIB Free Shipping code to purchase it online. Big mistake. The powder should come with a warning about its extreme fragility.

I expected to receive a beautiful rose gold embossed pressed powder. What I received was rose gold rubble. When I opened the compact a cloud of sparkly powder filled the air and little bits and pieces spilled out all over my desktop. I cleaned up most of it before taking a photo of the compact but it was a total mess!

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Rose Gold: The Reality

This is the very first time I’ve ever received a powder product that was completely destroyed from any online vendor. There was plenty of tissue paper inside the shipping box but no bubble wrap to cushion the highlighter which must be a very delicate product, so my suggestion for everyone out there who’s interested in buying this powder is buy it in a physical store. DO NOT purchase it online!

The powder arrived yesterday (September 25) via UPS and I’m sending it back today (September 26) for a refund. I’ve never made a return by mail before so hopefully it gets back to the warehouse and I’m credited the full amount in a timely manner without any issues.

Since my hands were already covered with rose gold powder I thought I’d swatch some it for all of you.

On my skin, Rose Gold appears as a very shimmery peach/bronze toned highlighter. We’re talking very shimmery, even sparkly. For some perspective, the shimmer particles in this are more obvious than the ones in theBalm’s Mary-Lou Manizer and as most people probably know Mary-Lou is already very shimmery.

Originally I thought that if I fell in love with Rose Gold — and I was confident that I would — then I would get the SSP Pressed powder in Moonstone next but now I’m not sure if I will. Although I love shimmer I feel like the amount in this powder is a bit excessive and the price point for this product is rather high. I’m sure I could probably find a similarly colored but subtler highlighter at the drugstore.

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed – Rose Gold

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed – Rose Gold

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed – Rose Gold

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed – Rose Gold

ETA: Bonus pic!

Random but here’s theBalm’s Cindy Lou Manizer next to Becca Rose Gold. As you can see, the Becca powder is a darker, peachy bronze compared to the lighter, pinker Cindy Lou.

theBalm Cindy-Lou Manizer, Becca Rose Gold

