Stila In The Know Eye Shadow Palette

Stila In The Know Eye Shadow Palette

Just wanted to share some quick thoughts on the Stila In The Know eye shadow palette ($39) that I purchased from Sephora early last month.

Much like theBalm’s Meet Matt(e) Nude, Sonia Kashuk’s Eye On Neutral, and Kat Von D’s Ladybird, Stila’s In The Know is a palette that consists of completely matte eye shadows. There are 10 shades, to be exact, of mostly neutral shades. The one surprising color is Fire, a deep burnt orange, that at first glance doesn’t seem very wearable; however, used sparingly and blended well, it adds a touch of warmth to any eye look. It’s quite similar in color to Cleopatra, the orange shade in Kat Von D’s Ladybird palette.

The texture of the In The Know shadows is soft and smooth but on the looser, more powdery side. The color payoff is impressive and the shadows all swatch beautifully, as you can plainly see in the photo below.

I seriously considered hanging onto the palette as I do love the range of shades offered but in the end I just couldn’t justify keeping it. I can pretty much dupe every color in the Stila palette with my Kat Von D and Sonia Kashuk matte palettes. The formula of the Kat Von D shadows, I feel, is a bit better and the palette offers more unique colors. The Sonia Kashuk shadows, while drier in consistency, are just as pigmented and the palette contains a wider variety of colors.

If you’re in the market for a matte palette, Stila’s In The Know is a great start. If, however, you already own the other matte palettes I mentioned, the Stila palette is redundant and unnecessary.

I plan on swatching all of the matte palettes I’ve tried all together in place so you can see how the colors compare, so stay tuned for that!

Stila In The Know Eye Shadow Palette

Stila In The Know Eye Shadow Palette

Stila In The Know Eye Shadow Palette

