Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess Eau Fraiche SkinScent

Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess Eau Fraiche SkinScent 2013

I subscribe to a ton of YouTubers and whenever anyone does a favorite Spring/Summer fragrance video the one scent that seems to pop up again and again on everyone’s list is the seasonal Estee Lauder perfume Bronze Goddess. People have described it as the beach in a bottle, suntan lotion-y, and coconutty. All very enticing descriptions in my opinion.

Bronze Goddess 2013, Bronze Goddess 2008

Being a fan of coconutty scents I scoured the internet looking for Bronze Goddess and was fortunate enough to get a bottle of the 2008 version from a blog sale for a good price.

Fragrances react differently from person to person due to body chemistry. On my skin I get mainly citrus and floral and not so much coconut which was quite disappointing to me. I’m usually more of a gourmand type of person but I can deal with the citrus and florals of Bronze Goddess because they’re quite soft and not overwhelming at all.

The 2008 Bronze Goddess gets a lot of love but this year’s version of Bronze Goddess has been getting a lot of buzz too. I’ve heard some people say that it’s creamier, others say it’s more lemony, and then there’s another group who’s adamant it’s exactly the same as the 2008 version. The creamy descriptor really sucked me in, so much so that I decided to buy a bottle when Ebates was offering 14% off all Nordstrom.com purchases. A 3.4 oz bottle costs $60 so it’s probably one of my biggest spontaneous splurges.

Well, Bronze Goddess 2013 finally arrived in the mail today and I spritzed it immediately. Overall, I would say that the 2013 and 2008 versions are extremely similar, so if you own one you don’t really need to get the other.

For comparison’s sake, I sprayed 2013 on my left wrist and 2008 on my right wrist and if I had to dissect the two scents I’d say that upon initial application the 2013 Bronze Goddess has a slightly creamier element to it. As the fragrances sit on the skin, however, a stronger lemon peel note emerges from the 2013 version, making the dry down on my skin sharper and more bitter compared to the relatively sweeter 2008 version. In fact, the 2008 mellows on my skin over time to the point that I can only detect it if I sniff my wrist. In comparison, the 2013 Bronze Goddess has much stronger sillage and staying power. After taking a shower I could still smell 2013 whereas 2008 was almost totally gone.

In the end, I’ve decided to keep the 2008 version and pass the 2013 version onto my mother who’s mentioned liking Bronze Goddess to me before. For all intents and purposes the two scents are identical (or very nearly so) in my opinion. If I were to wear 2008 on one day and 2013 the next day, I highly doubt my coworkers would notice a difference. I think that only someone who’s really nitpicky would detect the slightly creamier opening and lemony dry down, so if you loved the 2008 version but wish that it had been stronger you’re in luck. I prefer sweeter, more intimate scents that stick close to the skin so the 2008 version is better for me. Plus, in my opinion the clear bottle and orange bulls-eye logo of the 2008 bottle are much more appealing and eye catching compared to the gold 2013 bottle.

One thought on “Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess Eau Fraiche SkinScent

  1. This perfume is AMAZING! It smells soo good I spray it everytime I see it! I love it and am dying to get it!
    xx
    daniella
    simplybeautifulelegant.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.