theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

Betty-Lou Manizer was part of the second order I placed with theBalm.com during their crazy 50% off website relaunch sale. The bronzer/shadow usually retails for $24.

What they say:

Betty-Lou Manizer
Bronzer/Shadow

Fake it, don’t bake it! Before you head out to relish some well deserved sun, score a faux, sun-kissed glow with theBalm’s Betty-Lou Manizer. Betty-Lou is a silky smooth, all-in-one bronzing highlighter, shimmer and shadow.

How to Apply
Layer this soft, talc-free formula on your lids for a luxe look, or sweep on your cheeks, forehead and chin using our Powder to the People brush for an instant, goddess glow.

I was so blown away by the fine shimmer, smooth texture, ultra-glowiness and versatility of theBalm’s Mary-Lou Manizer that i decided to get the darker version, Betty-Lou. I’m not even a bronzer-using kind of gal so that just goes to show you how much I love Mary-Lou.

Unfortunately, while the texture and shimmer are on par with Mary-Lou the usability isn’t, at least not on my fair/light skin. If I wanted to I could wear Mary-Lou as an all over powder but, so as not to look like a disco ball, I only use it on the tops of my cheekbones, down the bridge of my nose, and occasionally on my eyelids as an eyeshadow.

Betty-Lou is simply lovely as a frosty/metallic bronze eyeshadow; however, I find that there’s an orange tone to the powder that really limits how I can use it. Applied with an extremely light hand Betty-Lou works as a bronzey cheek color/highlight that adds some warmth to my face but I certainly wouldn’t use it all over on my cheeks, forehead and chin as theBalm suggests, not unless I wanted to look cuckoo crazy. Betty-Lou would probably work better on darker skin tones.

If you have fair/light skin and love Mary-Lou Manizer but were thinking about getting a bronzier version for the summer, I would suggest skipping Betty-Lou Manizer and picking up Stila’s All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten instead. I find its lighter, pinky bronze color far more flattering.

theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, stila AOS Kitten, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer, Stila AOS Kitten (bronze side), Stila AOS Kitten (pink and bronze sides blended together)

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer, Stila AOS Kitten (bronze side), Stila AOS Kitten (pink and bronze sides blended together)

