Stila All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten

Stila All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten

Introducing my newest highlighter acquisition: Stila’s All OVer Shimmer Powder in Kitten. One word: LOVE!

What they say:

Introducing a gorgeous all over shimmer powder with Kitten and a pale iridescent pink. This multi-purpose powder instantly enhances the complexion with a fresh, radiant glow.

Inspired by light, Stila’s All Over Shimmer Duo in Kitten creates a luminous, youthful glow. Packaged in a convenient compact with mirror, this powder can be used as an eye shadow, highlighter, cheek color and décolleté.

Features include:

Enhances the complexion with natural, illuminating glow
Micro-fine pearl adheres to the skin, lasting all day
All-over-glow powder can be used on the eyes, cheeks, face and décolleté
Packaged in an easy-to-carry compact with mirror

Size: 0.18 oz.

The AOS Kitten powder isn’t a particularly new product; it’s been around for a couple of years now but I always passed it over because I assumed that swirled together the highlighter would be way too bronzy on fair/light skin. Recently, though, I discovered Shaaanxo on YouTube, a gorgeous Kiwi girl who does a lot of “Get Ready With Me” videos. About two months ago she started featuring (and raving about) Stila’s All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten and my interest was piqued. Applied to the tops of her cheekbones the Kitten duo gave off a very noticeable warm glow that didn’t look too tan at all.

Needless to say I had to have it and I ended up purchasing one from Sephora during their Chic Week promotion. …And then I got another one during stilacosmetics.com’s recent 50% off sale. It was too good a deal to resist! I didn’t plan on buying a second compact but I was trying to fill my shopping cart up with enough items to qualify for free shipping.

If you’re a fan of theBalm’s Mary-Lou Manizer and its super glowy finish I think you’ll really love Stila’s AOS Kitten duo as well. Texture-wise the Stila powder is more loosely packed so rather than swirling your brush in the pan and creating a powdery mess in the compact, I suggest only touching your brush against the surface of the powder to pick up a little bit of product. A little is really all you need because this powder is quite pigmented and the glow it gives can easily look over the top if applied with a heavy hand (much like Mary-Lou Manizer). One thing I’ve noticed is that the bronze half of the powder is softer so my brush always picks up more of that side compared to the pink side. When I highlight my cheeks I always double-dip into the pink powder because I have OCD when it comes to things like that. I don’t like knowing that I’m using one side of the duo more than the other. Just imagining using up the bronze side first, resulting in a lopsided compact, seriously bugs me. I can’t have that. I won’t!

Of course the two halves of AOS Kitten can be used individually and are beautiful on their own as highlighters/bronzers and eyeshadows. I prefer mixing the two colors together because (1) I prefer the pinky bronze color and (2) I’ve got OCD when it comes to using split pan products. Each side must be used equally.

In terms of shimmer, the Stila powder is just as fine and the finish just as glowy as theBalm’s. The only difference is the AOS Kitten powder is warmer and deeper in color. In fact, when AOS Kitten’s two halves are swirled together I’d call it a bronzier version of Mary-Lou Manizer. I know theBalm actually has bronze version of Mary-Lou Manizer called Betty-Lou Manizer; I picked one up during theBalm’s website relaunch sale and I’ll swatch and review it very soon but, to put it simply, if you’re fair skinned and want a bronzier version of Mary-Lou Manizer I’d recommend the Stila duo over the darker Betty-Lou Manizer. In my opinion, it’s more flattering.

Stila All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten

Stila All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten

Stila All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, Stila AOS Kitten (both shades), Stila AOS Kitten (left shade), Stila AOS Kitten (right shade)

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, Stila AOS Kitten (both shades)

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer (blended), Stila AOS Kitten (both shades blended), Stila AOS Kitten (left shade), Stila AOS Kitten (right shade)

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer (blended), Stila AOS Kitten (both shades blended)

2 thoughts on “Stila All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten

Comments are closed.