Shiseido Luminizing Satin Face Color – High Beam White

Shiseido Luminizing Satin Face Color – High Beam White

Despite all of the positive things I’ve seen and heard about Shiseido’s High Beam White powder I was prepared to dislike it. I’ve simply been disappointed too many times by products undeserving of all the hype that surround them. In this case, though, people were right. It’s one of the best powder highlighters I’ve ever tried!

A compact contains 0.22 oz (6.5 g) of product and retails for $30. I purchased mine off of Sephora.com since they’re currently offering a 15% discount for Beauty Insider members as part of their Chic Week promotion.

Shiseido’s Luminizing Satin Face Color powders are available in several shades but WT905 High Beam White is the one that’s often recommended as a highlighter for fair skin.

High Beam White looks scarily matte and white in the pan. Even swatched on my finger it looks intimidating but when it’s applied with a brush, that’s when the magic happens. On the tops of my cheekbones, High Beam White is nearly invisible except for this beautiful, oh-so-natural sheen. It isn’t stark white on my skin (NC15) at all and it doesn’t look powdery or cakey — something I worried about as a person with very dry skin — even if I apply it with a heavy hand.

High Beam White produces this amazing glow that doesn’t contain any visible shimmer or sparkle, not even under direct sunlight. It won’t give you that high intensity, see-it-from-a-mile-away glow the way theBalm’s Mary-Lou Manizer will but you can definitely build it up slightly for a natural, subtle dewiness. Just as the product name states, Shiseido’s powder produces a smooth, luminizing satin sheen. Gorgeous!

As I’ve mentioned before, I love extreme highlighters. They should either be over the top and glowy or super subtle with sheen but no visible shimmer. No middle of the road highlighters with average levels of shimmer and pigmentation for me, thank you. Mary-Lou Manizer fits the former category with its intense color payoff and shimmery sheen. High Beam White fits the latter category: barely perceptible on the skin except for a shimmer-free sheen that catches the light so beautifully.

Shiseido’s High Beam White is definitely well worth the money and not a purchase I regret. In fact, I’m now considering getting another Luminizing Satin Face Color. I’ve got my eye on PK107 Medusa, the opalescent pink shade.

