Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo

Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo

Too Faced’s Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo contains 0.35 oz of product and retails for $30 at Sephora. I’d done a little bit of research beforehand to look at swatches but this was mostly a spontaneous online purchase for me.

Candlelight Glow contains a golden white shade on the left-hand side and a sheerer light pink on the right. According to Too Faced, Candlelight Glow was inspired by their original Candlelight powder except this newer version has more of an “ethereal glow” with “Photolite technology” that supposedly diffuses harsh light. To put it simply, this is a sheer highlighting powder with a lot of shimmer.

If I build it up a little, Candlelight Glow has what appears to be a very lovely satin sheen in low light, indoor light and indirect sunglight. It’s not until I stand under direct sunlight that all of the shimmer becomes obvious. [I tried my best to capture all of the shimmer in a photograph but my camera wasn’t very cooperative. Shimmer seemed to show up better in photographs when the camera was out of focus but I had to really struggle to get a bad shot. Normally that would be a good thing but not in this particular circumstance.]

I’ve used this powder several times and I have to say that after using theBalm’s Mary-Lou Manizer I’m not impressed with Too Faced’s higlighting powder. I prefer my highlighters to be at either extreme. They should either be extremely pigmented and glowy (they can always be sheered out or applied with a light hand) or they should be super subtle with sheen but no obvious shimmer. The problem I have with Candlelight Glow is it’s neither a pigmented highlighter nor a subtle one. On the one hand Candlelight Glow has very sheer color payoff, so I really have to pile this on to get the same level of color payoff or glowiness as Mary-Lou Manizer; on the other hand it contains a lot of shimmer so it’s not exactly subtle.

Mary-Lou falls in the super pigmented category and, for me, is the better highlighter; it’s more versatile and at $24 for 0.3 oz (or $12 on Hautelook) a better value, too. Mary-Lou’s multifunctional; it’s intensely pigmented so it can be used as an eyeshadow with a heavy hand or as a glowy cheek highlight with a lighter hand. And because the color payoff is so much better, it would take me a lot longer to use up a Mary-Lou compact compared to the more weakly pigmented Candlelight Glow.

Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo

Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo

Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo

Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo

Left side (golden white), right side (pink), both halves blended together

Left side (golden white), right side (pink), both halves blended together

Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo

Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo

