theBalm Instain Blush – Lace and Argyle

Update: swatches of theBalm Instain blushes in Lace, Argyle, Toile and Swiss Dot can be found here.

theBalm.com was supposed to have had a 50% sitewide sale on April 1 but they didn’t anticipate the number of shoppers that would stampede their site. I managed to place an order for a couple of their new Instain blushes before their website crashed. theBalm has since taken their site offline and the 50% sale will recommence when they get their new servers up and running.

As for the Instain blushes I got, it’s still too early to give a proper review — I literally just received my package minutes ago — but I did want to snap a few photos and share some swatches so when theBalm’s flash sale officially starts you all have a better idea if these blushes/shades are something you’d like to buy.

The new Instain blushes are available in six shades and they’re described as long wearing staining powder blushes that won’t fade and will last all day long. I purchased Lace (bright pink) and Argyle (petal pink) which, based on the online pictures, seemed to be the lightest and brightest colors. Each blush contains 5.5 g (0.2 oz) of product and retails for $22.

I haven’t had an opportunity to test them out properly yet (on my face) so I can’t tell you if they truly do last all day long but just from swatching it doesn’t seem like they’re particularly staining. I was able to remove the swatches easily with a baby wipe. As for texture, they’re both smooth and not chalky/powdery. Moreover, the color payoff of the Instain blushes is better than my theBalm blush in Down Boy. I’m only mildly disappointed that Lace isn’t as bold a color as I’d hoped. I really wanted a blush as ultra bright as my Hot Pink blush from Hot Topic but without shimmer and not as deep. Oh, by the way, both of the Instain blushes I bought are matte.

theBalm Instain Blush – Lace

theBalm Instain Blush – Lace

theBalm Instain Blush – Lace

theBalm Instain Blush – Argyle

theBalm Instain Blush – Argyle

theBalm Instain Blush – Argyle

theBalm Instain Blush – Argyle

theBalm Instain Blush – Lace and Argyle

theBalm Instain Blush – Lace and Argyle

Clockwise from bottom left: Hot Topic – Hot Pink, e.l.f. Pink Passion, theBalm Lace, theBalm Argyle, theBalm Down Boy

Left to right: Hot Topic Hot Pink, e.l.f. Pink Passion, theBalm Lace, theBalm Argyle, theBalm Down Boy

2 thoughts on “theBalm Instain Blush – Lace and Argyle

Comments are closed.