Sephora Collection Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette

Sephora Collection Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette

Today I’ll be swatching Sephora’s Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette ($28) for you. I actually purchased this way back during Sephora’s big sale in December but promised myself I wouldn’t touch it until I sold off some of my unwanted makeup first. I’ve gotten rid of a big chunk of it already so here we go!

Sephora Collection Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette

Sephora Collection Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette

Sephora Collection Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette

Sephora Collection Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette

Sephora Collection Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette (Flash)

Beige, Sand, Gold

Apricot, Tea Rose, Taupe

Tea Rose, Taupe, Matte Brown

Camel, Bronze, Mahogany

Deep Burgundy, Plum, Steel

Plum, Steel, Must Have

Overall, it’s a very good palette with an interesting variety of natural/nude shades and more colorful “neutrals.” There aren’t that many matte shades though — only three (Beige, Matte Brown, Must Have) — and they’re slightly less pigmented and are a bit chalky compared to the shimmery shades. The shimmery shades, however, are all smooth with great color payoff.

Not surprisingly, the Primal Instincts palette is often recommended as a cheaper alternative to the Urban Decay Naked palette. I don’t own the UD palette but from photos I’ve seen online the array of colors do look very similar so I can understand the comparison.

The Sephora palette also strongly resembles the MUA Undressed palette that I recently purchased. Right off the bat I can tell you that besides having fewer shades the MUA palette also skews more warm/golden whereas the Sephora palette comes across as cooler with its purple, gray and pink tinged shades. In my opinion, the two palettes are similar enough that owning both is redundant so I’m going to get rid of the Undressed palette which underwhelmed me.

Sephora Collection Primal Instincts Eyeshadow Palette

