Nivea Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss Lip Butter

Nivea Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss Lip Butter

I purchased the Nivea Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss Lip Butter from CVS a little over a week ago. Usually, I know right away whether I like a lip balm or not but this one took a bit more time to figure out.

First off, the packaging is adorable. I, for one, love lip balms that come in tins such as Smith’s Rosebud Salve and the discontinued NYC tinted lip balms, so the Nivea Lip Butters sounded like they were right up my alley.

Nivea Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss Lip Butter

Compared to other drugstore lip balms these are quite pricey. At the CVS I visited they were $4.19 apiece! Luckily, there was a BOGO50% sale on Nivea that week and the red scanner box spit out $1 off Nivea coupon; otherwise, I wouldn’t have even considered buying one. You see, I haven’t had very good luck with Nivea lip balms in the past. The last time I used a Nivea lip balm (Nivea A Kiss of Moisture) was in 2009 and I thought it felt greasy but worst of all I had an allergic reaction to it. It made my lips all red and bumpy.

Nivea Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss Lip Butter

Fast forward to 2013 and the new Nivea Lip Butter. I was definitely wary about trying another Nivea lip balm but the cute packaging was just too cute to resist.

Each tin comes with 0.59 oz (16.7 g) of product that contains moisturizing ingredients such as shea butter and sweet almond oil. Sounds good.

The scents are probably the Nivea Lip Butters’ strongest selling point. They’re available in a handful of scents but I chose Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss which I’d describe as a very creamy vanilla scent. Imagine boiling a pot of milk with a spoonful of vanilla because that’s what Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss smells like to me. It’s a rich, milky vanilla fragrance that’s quite mellow and warm. Once the lip balm is applied to the lips the fragrance dissipates and there really isn’t any taste (i.e. no sweetness).

The consistency is firm in the tin but on the lips it feels creamy with a lot of slip. Vaseline feels super oily in comparison and a Korres Lip Butter feels drier, thicker and a bit stickier. I think the texture of Nivea’s Lip Butter is pretty close to that of Smith’s Rosebud Salve except the Lip Butter is just slightly less thin. The Rosebud Salve and Nivea Lip Butter are both petroleum based lip balms.

I was surprised by the longevity of the lip balm. I remember Nivea’s A Kiss of Moisture lip balms barely lasting 20 minutes on me but I could still feel traces of the Nivea Lip Butter at the four hour mark. Five hours is about the longest this lip balm lasts on me.

Unfortunately, for me that’s where the love affair ends. When the Lip Butter was on my lips it felt great but once it wore off I noticed a strange, tingly tightness to my lips. That night my lips looked redder than normal, clearly a sign of irritation or some allergic reaction, and then later that evening my lips became so dry they cracked. Ugh! I didn’t want to blame it on Nivea without further investigation so I waited several days for my lips to completely heal and then I tried the Lip Butter again. Same results. I guess there’s just something about Nivea lip products that doesn’t agree with my body chemistry. What a shame because I really do like the tin, scent and texture.

One thought on “Nivea Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss Lip Butter

Comments are closed.