Schick Hydro Silk Razor

Schick Hydro Silk Razor

My Schick Hydro Silk Bzzkit arrived in the mail last month with a complimentary razor and eight $5 off coupons.

As luck would have it the same week that my Bzz Kit arrived ShopRite ran a fantastic promotion on the Schick Hydro Silk razors — on sale for $4.99 vs. the regular $9.49 price tag — so rather than handing out the coupons to my friends and family I decided to save everyone a trip and redeem all of the coupons for free razors on their behalf. My subtotal for eight Schick Hydro Silk razors was $0.00; all I had to pay was tax. I’m so glad I acted on it rather than waiting because a deal that great hasn’t come around since.

[If you’d like to learn more about my experiences with the BzzAgent organization please refer to my blog entry here.]

What they say:

  • Each cartridge is filled with Water-Activated Moisturizing Serum that’s infused with marine extracts and shea butter and hydrates longer than any other razor.
  • 5 Curve-Sensing blades move independently from each other to deliver an incredibly smooth, efficient shave and blade guards help protect skin from irritation (fewer strokes helps reduce irritation!)
  • contoured oval cartridges allow for a closer shave around hard-to-reach places like ankles, knees and underarms
  • An ergonomic, soft touch handle with rubber grips provides ultimate control while shaving
  • Schick Hydro Silk razors are stacked at grocery stores, drug stores and mass retailers; the Starter Kit sells for an average retail price of $9.49, while 4-packs of refill cartridges retail for around $15.11

It’s been awhile since I’ve used a Schick razor. The last one I used was the Schick Quattro that has four blades but the most recent razor I used prior to the Hydro Silk was actually the three-bladed Venus ProSkin, so I was curious to see how the Schick Hydro Silk compared.

Schick Hydro Silk Razor

A regular Hydro Silk package contains one razor, a razor holder, and two cartridges.

Schick Hydro Silk Razor

Schick Hydro Silk Razor

Schick Hydro Silk Razor

I’d say that compared to the Gillette Venus ProSkin, the Schick Hydro Silk is sharper and offers a much closer shave. I wasn’t too careful once and ended up nicking my legs a little but my carelessness aside I noticed that because the razor gives such a close shave I don’t have to shave as often as I did before. In other words, the closer shave means leg stubble comes back more slowly and the time from one shaving session to the next is longer.

As for the serum that’s supposedly infused into the cartridge, I never put much stock into the moisturizing claims brands make about their razors. I think any moisturizing properties they have are negligible and I still prefer to use a separate shave gel.

Schick Hydro Silk Razor

Besides, it’s not as if the Hydro Silk contains a lot of that moisturizing serum. If you look at the blade cartridge, the sea-foam green part is all hard plastic. See those tiny white dots on the cartridge? That’s the serum and after the razor gets wet a few times all you’re left with is empty little wells/holes where the serum used to be.

Although the Hydro Silk doesn’t have much serum I prefer how it wears off compared to the Venus ProSkin that has moisturizing strips. The ProSkin starts off having two huge moisturizing gel bars that look like this but after a few shaves, the gel bars melt off and the razor ends up looking like the photo below. Without the gel bars the ProSkin blade cartridge wobbles on the handle because it no longer has those weighty gel bars on either side to balance it, making the chance of cutting oneself more likely.

In comparison, when the serum from the Hydro Silk disappears it doesn’t affect the balance of the cartridge and shaving is more stable and less dangerous.

1-month old Venus Pro Skin (top), 2-week old Schick Hydro Silk (bottom)

There are aspects of the Hydro Silk that I like but others that I think could be better. I prefer the design of the cartridge over that of the Venus; the cartridge stays stable even when the serum is gone. I wish razor companies would do away with the whole moisturizing gel/bar/serum on the cartridges altogether. It’s unnecessary and gimmicky. I don’t think anyone relies solely on the razor when shaving; most people use a separate shaving gel.

I do, however, prefer the Venus’ handle to that of the Hydro Silk. The latter is less bulky but the Venus is more rubbery so it offers a better non-slip grip.

As for performance, the Schick Hydro Silk hands down offers a better, closer shave and I guess in the end when you’re comparing razors that’s really what matters most.

