Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

Sigma F80, Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

Move over F80, there’s a new top foundation brush in town!

I bought a Real Techniques Expert Face Brush back in June but I didn’t start using it religiously until these last three months. My previous favorite face brush was the Sigma F80 and the RT Expert Face Brush has now usurped its place in my heart.

Compared to the blunt, flat top of the F80, the Expert Face Brush has a rounded top.

Sigma F80, Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

The F80 brush head is circular. The Expert Face Brush is pinched at the ferrule so it’s narrower and slightly smaller but just as densely packed and soft as the Sigma. Maybe even a bit softer actually.

Sigma F80, Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

If you recall, I disliked my e.l.f. Studio Powder Brush because it had a rounded top, overly long bristles, and wasn’t densely packed. Fortunately, the rounded top that I hated about the e.l.f. brush works for the Real Techniques brush.

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

Unlike the e.l.f. Studio Powder Brush, the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush is very densely packed with shorter bristles so it doesn’t feel floppy or flimsy. And because of it’s smaller size (compared to the Sigma F80) and rounded top, the Expert Face Brush is easy to maneuver over my face and into every nook and cranny, like around the sides of my nose and the area under my eyes.

The Sigma F80’s still a great brush but after using the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush for so long the F80 now feels too large and unwieldy. It’s kind of like using a sledgehammer to beat a nail into a wall after discovering a regular hammer. It feels so awkward and I can’t imagine going back.

It works well for buffing foundation into the skin but buffing doesn’t usually work well for people with very dry skin (like me!). Buffing motions oftentimes irritate and exacerbate even the smallest dry patches of skin, making them look even more obvious and flaky. I can get away with buffing in the summertime (or on warmer, humid days) when my skin isn’t so incredibly dry but in the winter I find it’s wiser to handle my skin as little as possible which means no buffing. When it’s colder, I prefer to apply foundation to my face with my fingers, gently patting some on a bit at a time and then going in with the Expert Face Brush and lightly stippling over the surface to make sure everything’s blended in and there are no streaks. Due to its shorter bristles and dense, compact size, the Expert Face Brush offers more control for stippling. The F80’s great for buffing but overall I don’t like it as much as the Real Techniques for stippling or buffing.

The Real Techniques Expert Face Brush is also a joy to clean. Foundation residue washes out quickly and cleanly from the brush, and it dries a lot more quickly compared to the e.l.f. and Sigma brushes. There’s been no staining and no loss of bristles either.

For $9, you really can’t go wrong. This is a truly wonderful brush that’s worth every penny and so much more. I would definitely recommend getting the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush over the e.l.f. Studio Powder Brush and Sigma F80. HUGE thumbs up!!

One thought on “Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

Comments are closed.