Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

I received my Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream Bzz kit at the end of January which included complimentary tubes of Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Creams (6-0.5 oz Original formula and 1-2 oz Fragrance Free formula) along with an informational booklet.

I gave away the minis to friends but kept the larger tube for myself to test. I have the driest skin ever so this was a product I really looked forward to trying.

[If you’d like to learn more about my experiences with the BzzAgent organization please refer to my blog entry here.]

What they say:

  • Just one dab repairs 7 signs of damage: dryness, chapping, splitting nails, dry cuticles, scaliness and roughness
  • 2012 Good Housekeeping Seal award winner
  • First hand cream to heal with concentrated glycerin
  • Keeps manicured hands looking beautiful
  • Long-lasting
  • Glycerin-rich
  • Concentrated
  • 2oz product good for 200 uses
  • Available in Original and Fragrance-Free
  • Suggested retail price of $4.99 per 2oz product

Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

This hand cream has the most interesting formula I’ve ever tried. Before I began using it I expected a traditional cream product so I was surprised when I squeezed some out of the tube and laid my eyes on a translucent jelly. To the naked eye it looks a lot like Vaseline or petroleum jelly.

Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

The strangeness comes into play as soon as I start rubbing it into my skin. It feels really thick like Vaseline that’s been left out in the cold but changes colors from clear to white as I rub.

Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

I worried that it would sit on top of my skin all heavy and thick but miraculously within five minutes every bit of it absorbed into the skin. Afterward my hands feel silky smooth without a trace of greasiness. This is some crazy stuff!

Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

Originally created to treat the wind battered dry skin of Norwegian fisherman, it’s now also recommended to treat weak nails as well as dry hands and cuticles before manicures.

Dry hands/cuticles before Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

I decided to see if the hand cream made a difference to my hands before applying one of my favorite nail polishes, NYC Times Square, a beautiful tomato red creme.

After applying Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Hand Cream

As you can see, the Norwegian Formula Hand Cream definitely improved the appearance and texture of my hands. Not only do my hands look smoother, they feel much smoother, too.

NYC – Times Square

I’ve also tried the Hand Cream on my lips as a balm and it works well for that purpose as well. It feels like petroleum jelly — kind of slick — but absorbs completely. It doesn’t sit on top of my lips but still manages to moisturize and keep my lips soft for hours. I used the Fragrance-Free formula and as expected there’s no particular scent or flavor. However, I do detect a slightly sweet taste with just a hint of bitterness when I lick my lips. It’s barely noticeable though.

