LORAC Spotlight & Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana

LORAC Spotlight & Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana

Two highlighters recently came into my possession. One’s by LORAC and the other’s a Wet n Wild powder.

LORAC Perfectly Lit Oil-Free Lumizing Powder – Spotlight

LORAC’s Perfectly Lit Oil-Free Luminizing Powder in the shade Spotlight is described as a warm beige. This is a mini size that came from one of those big Sephora kits. My friend didn’t want it so she passed it on to me 😀

LORAC Perfectly Lit Oil-Free Lumizing Powder – Spotlight

Wet n Wild Color Icon Bronzer Powder SPF15 – Reserve Your Cabana

I purchased Wet n Wild’s Color Icon Bronzer Powder SPF15 in the shade Reserve Your Cabana from Walgreens for $3.99. I would describe the shade as a champagne color, too pale as a bronzer for most people but suitable as a highlighter for many.

Wet n Wild Color Icon Bronzer Powder SPF15 – Reserve Your Cabana

Comparing the two products, Spotlight has more of a bronzey tone and Reserve Your Cabana is a lot paler.

LORAC Spotlight (left), Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana (right)

Both are finely milled but the LORAC applies much more smoothly. Reserve Your Cabana looks flatter and drier — like a regular face powder — on my skin.

LORAC Spotlight (left), Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana (right)

When the powders are sheered out they both impart a very subtle shimmery sheen. Reserve Your Cabana’s color blends right into my skin whereas Spotlight adds a bit of warmth. However, the texture and finish of Spotlight are simply better in my opinion. It has a smoother, more seamless finish that almost melts into my skin and becomes one with it unlike Reserve Your Cabana which looks slightly chalky and seems to just sit on top of my skin.

It wasn’t until after I bought Reserve Your Cabana that I remembered reading that it’s a dupe of the discontinued Wet n Wild Acapulco Glow powder. I actually sold Acapulco Glow off in a blog sale once. Wish I had remembered before I bought it in its reincarnated form.

Of the two highlighters I prefer the LORAC. The formula and finish are simply better in my opinion. And now I really want to buy the Perfectly Lit powder in the palest, golden cream shade called Luminous. Spotlight is pretty but more of a summery highlighter shade for me. I think Luminous would be a great year-round highlighter though.

LORAC Spotlight (top), Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana (bottom)

LORAC Spotlight (left), Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana (right)

LORAC Spotlight (left), Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana (right)

One thought on “LORAC Spotlight & Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana

  1. Excellent Review
    I purchaseD WNW because of a review on Utube, I can really see the difference in the two colors. ALS0 I AM AM a MEDIUM TONE BLACK WOMAN. Wet n Wild Reserve Your Cabana PRODUCT IS A LITTLE chalky, BUT STILL A GOOD PURCHASE FOR THE MONEY.

Comments are closed.