L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer

L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer – Fair/Light W1-2-3

I told you I was on a hunt for an undereye concealer, didn’t I? 😉

Today’s concealer review is for L’Oreal’s True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer in the shade Fair/Light W1-2-3. I purchased mine from Target for $8.99.

Out of the three concealers that I’ve tried this month — the Physicians Formula Conceal Rx, the NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage, and now the L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer — this was surprisingly the best. I guess it shouldn’t have come as a shock since I’m a fan of stick concealers. Generally speaking, they tend to be richer and creamier. After all, I’m a big fan of CoverGirl’s CG Smoothers concealer because it’s very emollient and has a dewy finish, so I was initially looking forward to the L’Oreal concealer when I first heard about it but that excitement was dampened somewhat when I started reading reviews from normal/combo/oily people raving about it. Hmm. Usually when people with those skin types like something, I don’t because I’m on the extreme side of dry and my makeup/skincare needs are so different from theirs. So it was with some dread that I tested out the L’Oreal True Match Crayon Concealer.

L’Oreal True Match Crayon Concealer – Fair/Light W1-2-3, L’Oreal True Match Lumi Foundation W1-2

It just so happens that I’ve been using L’Oreal’s True Match Lumi foundation in the shade W1-2 for the past two months so when I was shopping for a concealer I simply picked the corresponding shade in the concealer line.

As you can see from the swatches, the Crayon Concealer is far more yellow-toned compared to the foundation. It’s also got a matte finish versus the more natural matte/slightly satin finish of the foundation.

L’Oreal True Match Crayon Concealer – Fair/Light W1-2-3, L’Oreal True Match Lumi Foundation W1-2

The concealer’s texture is creamy but drier and stiffer than I expected and hoped for from a cream stick concealer and I knew right then that it would never be a favorite concealer of mine.

The coverage though is really impressive, definitely better than the NYX and Physicians Formula concealers I reviewed yesterday. The twist-up stick format of the concealer allows you to cover small blemishes as well as larger areas such as undereye circles. Coverage is on the higher end of medium but you can sheer it out easily for something lighter. It’s easy to build up the coverage without the concealer looking cakey or heavy, and because of its stiffer/drier texture the concealer really clings to the skin and doesn’t slip and slide around.

The finish is a little too matte for my liking and emphasizes dry skin but it’s far less matte than the NYX concealer which I found looked powdery and really exaggerated the dryness of my skin. If the L’Oreal concealer were just a little bit more dewy I would be a big fan but, as it is, it falls a bit short for me.

I’ve demo’d the concealer so you can see its effectiveness at concealing my dark circles. It doesn’t totally wipe out the darkness under my eyes 100% but it does a very good job at brightening and concealing most of it. All I needed to do was draw the concealer wherever I needed it and it didn’t take very much product to cover up either! I was surprised at how well the True Match Crayon performed because yellow-toned concealers usually look very ashy underneath my eyes.

As you can tell from looking at the photos below, I also used the concealer to cover up a blemish on my nose. Covering the blemish only took a tiny dab or two of concealer, and covering a dark circle only took five or six short strokes of the crayon that I then blended out.

I highly recommend that anyone who doesn’t have very dry skin like mine check out this concealer. The True Match Crayon isn’t moisturizing enough for the under eye area in my opinion but it does a great job hiding spots and blemishes. The coverage is very good, application is easy and fuss-free, and it’s fantastic for on-the-go touch ups.

As for me, I plan on trying the new CoverGirl & Olay Balm Concealer stick next.

Bare skin

L’Oreal True Match Crayon Concealer (left), Bare Eye (right)

L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer – Fair/Light W1-2-3

L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer – Fair/Light W1-2-3

2 thoughts on “L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Crayon Concealer

  1. You like the lumi foundation? I usually had pretty normal skin, maybe a little drier or a little oilier every now and then depending on the climate. I loved how nice the lumi foundation was and even found it really moisturizing, but after a while I noticed my skin was getting really dry and flaky. I realized that it had a high alcohol content and alcohol is really harsh on skin. It actually took a long time to recuperate back to it’s natural state because I used the foundation every day and it was darker so I ended up putting it on my neck and other parts of my body I wanted to look tan. I had to veer completely away from all my usual cosmetic products so that my skin would get better. I literally had to throw out all my makeup and skincare because my skin turned so sensitive to stuff I wasn’t usually sensitive to. Even though my skin desperately needed to be covered, I couldn’t wear any type of makeup; I just walked out of the house lightly exfoliated with a ton of serums and ton of SPF. I also discovered, the hard way, that “hypoallergenic” and “sensitive” doesn’t really have to be hypoallergenic. Now, I have to be pretty careful about everything I use and took a course on cosmetic ingredients(skin is the biggest organ of the body after all). I also discovered that the UVA aspect of the SPF was non-existent. I also that pigments naturally have UVB(similar to how clothes do) and that SPF in foundation only works if you slather it on like you would a sunscreen. Sorry to bore you with that long anecdote but I thought I needed to add that.

    • Lumi was okay but I didn’t love it. It didn’t offer enough moisture for me so I sold it off. I prefer the L’Oreal Visible Lift Repair Absolute cream foundation. L’Oreal has a tendency of putting SPF in their foundations. I actually prefer foundations that don’t contain any SPF. They put so little of it into the foundations that I don’t think it serves much purpose and it limits where/when you can wear the foundation (can’t wear it at night when taking photos or you’ll get flashback). I always wear a separate sunscreen under foundations anyway.

Comments are closed.