NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer and Physicians Formula Conceal Rx Physicians Strength Concealer

NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer

I’m still on a hunt for a full coverage, non-drying under eye concealer. The two newest ones that I’ve been using lately are NYX’s Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer and the Physicians Formula Conceal Rx Physicians Strength Concealer. Since I plan on making the reviews short and sweet I decided to do a twofer blog post about them.

The NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer is actually a reformulated version of their old Concealer Jar. I never tried the previous version so unfortunately I can’t compare the two. I don’t know how the formula’s changed or if the new shades are different from the old shades.

I purchased the NYX concealer in the lightest shade, Porcelain, from a beauty supply store for $5.99.

NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer

The other concealer I’ve been testing is Physicians Formula’s Conceal Rx Physicians Strength Concealer. I bought the shade Natural Light from CVS for $8.99.

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile you’ll remember that I actually tried this concealer maybe a year or two ago but promptly returned it. It was much too matte for me then but a lot of people recommend this product as a high coverage drugstore concealer, so I wanted to give it another try. My skincare routine has changed over the years and I thought that might affect the performance of the concealer.

Physicians Formula Conceal Rx Physicians Strength Concealer

As you can see from swatches, the NYX cream concealer is rather neutral with an ultra matte finish but I needed a shade that was more yellow toned. Unfortunately the next two shades up, Fair and Light, both looked too pink for me.

The Physicians Formula liquid concealer has a slightly more peachy tone and also a matte finish (but less so compared to the NYX concealer).

NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer, Physicians Formula Conceal Rx

Now for the demos!

First up, the NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer…

Please excuse the stray hairs here and there. I just sent in two Tweezerman tweezers to be sharpened so I’ll be hairier than normal for a few weeks 😛

Bare skin

Full Coverage? Um…no.

Bare skin (left), NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer (right)

I’d say light to medium coverage at best. This concealer sheers out very easily so I had to use two layers to cover anything  but I could still see my undereye darkness peaking through.

NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer

The concealer has a creamy consistency which I like but the finish I hate. I have a very dry skin type and always moisturize very well before makeup application but this concealer makes my undereyes look powdery dry and emphasizes fine lines. In addition, whether I use fingers, a sponge or a brush to apply this concealer it never looks smooth underneath my eyes.

I think that someone with oilier skin would appreciate this concealer more. I wouldn’t recommend it for people with dry skin.

NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer

———–

Physicians Formula Conceal Rx Physicians Strength Concealer

I can only use the tiniest drop of the Physicians Formula liquid concealer underneath my eyes. One, the concealer dries very quickly so it’s best to use small amounts and blend immediately. Two, too much of this concealer can look cakey.

Bare skin

Again, not a full coverage concealer.

Bare skin (left), Physicians Formula Conceal Rx Physicians Strength Concealer (right)

I prefer this concealer slightly more than the NYX concealer. I have to work more quickly when I use it but the finish is smoother and doesn’t emphasize dry skin or fine lines as much. What’s more,  I don’t need to use as much to achieve medium coverage.

Physicians Formula Conceal Rx Physicians Strength Concealer

One thing that I have to note is that this concealer isn’t just matte it’s mattifying as well. I usually wear concealer on top of foundation but, like the NYX, this concealer looks noticeably matte on top of my satin-finish foundations so one day I tried it underneath my foundation. I thought that if I laid a dewier product on top of the concealer that that would hide or tone down the matte-ness; however, it just mattified everything on top of it instead. It literally sucks the moisture/shine/dewiness from my foundations.

This concealer would definitely benefit oily-skinned people more.

Physicians Formula Conceal Rx Physicians Strength Concealer

And so the search for an dry skin-appropriate undereye concealer continues. I really need something dewier and more moisturizing. Expect to see these two concealers pop up on my blog sale.

