N.Y.C. Long Wearing Nail Enamel – Rock the Party! & Skyline Blue

N.Y.C. Rock the Party! and Skyline Blue

I went to a different CVS store today in the hopes of finding Revlon Lip Butters on clearance. None were to be found. Instead, I spotted the N.Y.C. Color Burst display of new $0.99 Long Wearing Nail Enamel shades. The two colors that immediately jumped out at me, and the ones I ended up buying, were Skyline Blue and Rock the Party!

Skyline Blue is a shimmery, pale blue.

In the bottle, Rock the Party! is a duochrome that’s a silvery, purplish, green-tinged gray mix that changes depending on how the light hits it. It’s a hard color to describe and an even harder color to photograph. I think Wet n Wild has a similar shade called Gray’s Anatomy that’s supposed to be a dupe of Deborah Lippmann Wicked Game. Unfortunately, I don’t own Gray’s Anatomy so I don’t know how Rock the Party! compares.

N.Y.C. Rock the Party! and Skyline Blue

N.Y.C. Skyline Blue

N.Y.C. Rock the Party!

N.Y.C. Rock the Party!

N.Y.C. Rock the Party!

N.Y.C. Rock the Party!

N.Y.C. Rock the Party!

N.Y.C. Rock the Party!

N.Y.C. Rock the Party!

ETA: Here’s a quick swatch of Rock the Party on a single finger. As you can see, it’s a sheer grayish purple with a pinky-purple duochrome and the barest tinge of green. This is three coats and visible nail line is apparent. Meh. It reminds me of the color my nail turned the time I accidentally slammed my finger in the door (minus the shimmery pink flash :P).

N.Y.C. Rock the Party! (Outdoors, natural light)

N.Y.C. Rock the Party! (Indoors, halogen/incandescent lighting)

2 thoughts on “N.Y.C. Long Wearing Nail Enamel – Rock the Party! & Skyline Blue

  1. Wow, these are the same two colors I picked up when I saw the new display at my Walmart today! 😀 I’m kinda disappointed by Rock the Party though, trying to think of a good color to layer it over to get the look in the bottle. Maybe get the duochrome look too? At least Skyline Blue is a pretty good dupe of Sinful Colors’ Cinderella, which I can’t find here for the life of me!

  2. I purchased this today and now that I see how sheer it is maybe it will look decent over black or dark blue.

Comments are closed.