Black Friday Purchases: Target Watches and Gap Pants

Target Pave Dial Watches with Rhinestones - Gold, Rose Gold, Silver

Target Pave Dial Watches with Rhinestones – Gold, Rose Gold, Silver

Watching You Tube videos is so bad for my wallet. It always makes me crave a lot of stuff I probably shouldn’t buy but I do anyway. Sigh.

I didn’t buy too much during the pre-/post-Thanksgiving and Black Friday sales and luckily what I did buy didn’t cost too much. I mostly blame Michele1218’s Target Sparkle & Shine Holiday 2012 Haul! video in which she showcased a shiny rose gold watch. Her videos always make me want to go out and buy tons of stuff!

All of the metallic watches that I own are silver but I’ve been wanting to jump on the rose gold bandwagon for the longest time; however, I didn’t want to spend a lot on a trendy piece. The sparkly Target watch looked so festive and the price point was perfect.

The rose gold watch is also available in gold, silver and gray.

Target Pave Dial Watch - Silver

Target Pave Dial Watch – Silver

Sadly, I’m going to be returning the gold and rose gold watches as I feel they’re a little too warm for my skin tone. Silver jewelry seems to suit me best.

Plus, if you look carefully you’ll see that one of the rhinestones on the gold watch has already fallen out of it’s spot near 6 o’clock and is now hanging out by 11 o’clock. I hadn’t even taken the watch out of the box yet. Boo! Hiss!

Target Pave Dial Watch with Rhinestones - Gold

Target Pave Dial Watch with Rhinestones – Gold

The rose gold pave watch doesn’t have any visible problems yet but when I show you what happened to the other rose gold watch I purchased from Target you’ll understand why I need to get a refund.

Target Pave Dial Watch with Rhinestones - Rose Gold

Target Pave Dial Watch with Rhinestones – Rose Gold

Two other watches that I thought looked nice were the Merona Round Case Watches with Stones in Rose Gold and Two Tone ($14.99 each). I bought mine when Target.com ran a Buy 3 Get 1 Free + Free Shipping sale on their watches.

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones - Rose Gold, Two Tone

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones – Rose Gold, Two Tone

One thing I really love about all of the watches I purchased is that they don’t have a brand stamped across the face. No one can tell who made it or where you bought it from, and they look kind of expensive.

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones - Rose Gold, Two Tone

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones – Rose Gold, Two Tone

The Merona watches all have a mother of pearl watch face that I feel is a lovely touch.

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones - Rose Gold

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones – Rose Gold

If you have a small wrist though beware as the bracelet runs large. I took out the clasp extenders and the bracelet still hangs loose on my wrist; I would have to remove some of the links to make it fit more snugly.

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones - Rose Gold

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones – Rose Gold

But look at what I saw on the watchband as soon as I took it out of its box. The rose gold paint was already chipping and peeling! What a shame. I had read a review prior to purchase in which someone had said that the paint chipped on their watch but I didn’t expect it to happen to my watch before I even wore it somewhere! This is why I’m going to be returning all of the colored watches and only keeping the silver and even that’s debatable. The silver pave watch is lovely but how long before one of the rhinestones falls out? I can’t decide if I want to keep it or not.

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones - Rose Gold

Merona Round Case Bracelet Watch with Stones – Rose Gold

—–

The other purchases I made were from Gap.com. I’ve really wanted a pair of black pants and when Gap finally had a 60% sitewide sale with free shipping sale I decided to take advantage of it, especially since I also had a one-time use $10 off coupon.

Gap Slim Cropped Pants - True Black - 6 Regular, 6 Tall

Gap Slim Cropped Pants – True Black – 6 Regular, 6 Tall

I chose the Slim Cropped Pants in 6 Regular and I really like them but they’re more like Steve Urkel highwater pants. Dorky. It looks like I bought a pair of too-short full length pants. They’re a little too long to be considered cropped on me but a little too short to be considered flattering full length pants, so I ended up getting a pair of 6 Tall in the same style.

Gap Slim Cropped Pants - True Black 6 Regular

Gap Slim Cropped Pants – True Black 6 Regular

I’ll get the 6 Regular tailored 1/4 to 1/2 inch shorter so they’ll look like they were meant to cropped pants all along. The 6 Tall pants however fit like a regular pair of black slacks. As you can from the photos, the waist is a little big on me but nothing a bit of tailoring and a skinny belt won’t fix.

Gap Slim Cropped Pants - True Black 6 Regular

Gap Slim Cropped Pants – True Black 6 Regular

I decided to get two pairs because I really like the material. It’s not a cheap, thin material but actually feels like a good quality fabric with a bit of thickness and durability to it that I’ll be able to dress up with a nice blouse or dress down with a t-shirt.

Gap Slim Cropped Pants - True Black

Gap Slim Cropped Pants – True Black

I had also considered getting the Really Skinny Pants in True Black but good thing I tried on a pair in-store first. They are total lint magnets and in my opinion not worth the $59.50 price tag.

