Food Bytes

Chicken Cutlet Sandwich with Mayo, Lettuce and Tomatoes

Chicken Cutlet Sandwich with Mayo, Lettuce and Tomatoes

Some random snapshots of the meals I’ve been eating over the past month or so.

Pan-roasted crispy chicken with white rice, sauteed water spinach with garlic, and stir fried cabbage with Chinese chili sauce.

Pan-roasted crispy chicken with white rice, sauteed water spinach with garlic, and stir fried cabbage with Chinese chili sauce.

Minute Steak with BBQ Butter Sauce and Sauteed Onions. Oven Fries.

Minute Steak with BBQ Butter Sauce and Sauteed Onions. Oven Fries.

I used Chef John’s Minute Steak with BBQ Sauce recipe and Cooks Illustrated recipe for Oven Fries. Both worked great! The fries recipe is perfect for those of us who are real weenies when it comes to deep frying; they came out very crispy and didn’t require a lot of oil.

Thanksgiving Dinner: Roast Chicken, Oven Roasted Cauliflower and Sweet Potatoes, Sausage & Cranberry Stuffing, Stuffed Mushrooms, and Mashed Potatoes with Gravy.

Thanksgiving Dinner: Roast Chicken, Oven Roasted Cauliflower and Sweet Potatoes, Sausage & Cranberry Stuffing, Stuffed Mushrooms, and Mashed Potatoes with Gravy.

I prefer my sweet potatoes au naturale. I’ve never understood the whole idea of sweet potato casserole with marshmallows. I get a cavity just thinking about it. Sweet potatoes are sweet enough on their own in my opinion.

I used Lidia Bastinanich’s recipe for stuffed mushrooms. It was okay but next time I’m going to leave out the parmesan cheese; I felt it overpowered the other ingredients and hid the true flavor of the mushrooms.

And ever since I saw Rachael Ray bake her stuffing in muffin tins I’ve served mine up that way too. Everyone at the table gets their own cute, little stuffing muffin with some of that browned, crusty top.

Homemade Pizza with Italian Sausage, Sauteed Onions, Fresh Basil and Cheese.

Homemade Pizza with Italian Sausage, Sauteed Onions, Fresh Basil and Cheese.

Hot Pot with Assorted Fish Balls, Homemade Pork and Tofu Meatballs, Napa Cabbage, Daikon Radish, Bok Choy and Watercress.

Hot Pot with Assorted Fish Balls, Homemade Pork and Tofu Meatballs, Napa Cabbage, Daikon Radish, Bok Choy and Watercress.

The Chinese grocery store that I frequent makes their own fresh fish balls in a variety of shapes and flavors. I usually buy the pre-made frozen kind but they’re getting expensive so I decided to try a bunch of the store-made balls. The first time I ate them I simply boiled the balls but didn’t care for it them that way so the next time I cut the balls in half, pan fried them first to get a nice toasty, browned flavor and then added them to the hot pot. I usually like to include some thinly sliced beef and seafood in hot pot but I felt we already had an overabundance of fish balls, the added protein would’ve been overkill.

Smartfood Selects: Sour Cream Onion Puffed Corn, Garlic Tomato Hummus Popped Chips and Feta Herb Hummus Popped Chips.

Smartfood Selects: Sour Cream Onion Puffed Corn, Garlic Tomato Hummus Popped Chips and Feta Herb Hummus Popped Chips.

I actually received these chips as part of a BzzAgent campaign and was all ready to review them at one point but then Hurricane Sandy happened causing me to lose electricity for nearly two weeks and I missed the deadline to submit my blog post. Gotta say though that I really enjoyed these snacks, the popped chips in particular. Loved the texture of the chips and the bold, interesting flavors. Super tasty and definitely a worth a repurchase!

Oreo Coconut Delight Fudge Creams

Oreo Coconut Delight Fudge Creams

Although I searched and searched for them I was never able to find the Oreo Candy Corn cookies that people either loved or hated. I did however stumble across the new Oreo Fudge Creams in the original, mint, peanut butter and coconut flavors.

I’m a big coconut fan so I went with the Coconut Creams and I have to say I love them. They contain a single chocolate wafer cookie layer similar to the cookie in the classic Oreo except thinner, a layer of sugary cream like a classic Oreo  except coconut flavored, and the whole thing is coated in a layer of milk chocolate. It’s delicious but I have to warn you it’s super, duper sweet. I can only eat one cookie in a sitting and I treat it like a candy. Like I said it’s really sweet.

I imagine that fans of Andes chocolates and Girl Scouts Thin Mints would enjoy the Oreo Mint Fudge Creams.

2 thoughts on “Food Bytes

Comments are closed.