Happy Thanksgiving!

Bread Stuffing with Sausage, Dried Cranberries and Pecans

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! I’m sure that many of you, like me, are in the midst of cooking but I just wanted to share my progress so far. I won’t be roasting the chicken (sorry, not a turkey fan) until 3:00 pm but I’ve started knocking off the side dishes.

  • The stuffing is 90% cooked and ready to be baked. Last year I used a Martha Stewart stuffing recipe but this year I followed America’s Test Kitchen’s recipe for Bread Stuffing with Sausage, Dried Cherries and Pecans. I wasn’t able to find dried cherries so I substituted dried cranberries (craisins), and I added chopped carrots for additional color and flavor.
  • The cauliflower and sweet potatoes are ready to be roasted as a side dish.
  • I’m planning on making mashed potatoes so the taters need to be peeled. I’ll throw them in the electric rice cooker to be steamed and then mashed later on with some salt, pepper, heavy cream and butter. I’ve found that steaming results in a more potato-y flavored mashed potato. In my experience, when you boil potatoes for mashed potatoes a lot of flavor leeches out of the potatoes into the water, so now I always steam my taters.
  • Grapefruits have been segmented for a mixed green salad with pistachios and vinaigrette.
  • Mushrooms are cleaned and ready to be stuffed using Lidia Bastianich’s recipe.

Mushroom Prep

  • The gravy will be the last step after the chicken comes out of the oven.
  • Flaky Biscuits are still on my To Do list.
  • Last but not least is the Brown Sugar Butternut Squash Tart. I’ll be keeping it sweet and dessert-y so I plan on skipping the cheese step. The dough is chilling in the fridge and the squash is cut up and ready to go.

Butternut Squash Prep

