Collective Haul

Collective Haul

There hasn’t been very much beauty talk on my blog lately but that’s because I was on a self-imposed no-buy for the past few weeks. I’ve been saving my pennies. All of the money that I would normally spend on makeup odds and ends has been going towards this one investment…and it’s finally here! Yes, I decided to upgrade my camera from a point and shoot to a DSLR! So exciting!

I decided to go with the Canon EOS Rebel T3 which by all accounts is a great starter DSLR for the novice photographer. I could’ve saved a little more for a T3i but I had specified a budget for myself and felt the T3 was good enough for me and the type of photography I had in mind. I’m just a blogger and amateur photographer after all. Besides, if I ever became really proficient at photography I’d probably want an even better DSLR model than the T3i, so I thought it would be better to begin with the more basic T3 now and maybe someday save up the $1000-$7000 for a fancier DSLR camera.

I still have to read through the manual and practice using the Canon so expect a mishmash of photos from my old Sony Cybershot and Canon DSLR on my blog for the foreseeable future.

Collective Haul

I celebrated the end of my no-buy by hauling of course. I picked up the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush, a NYX concealer, Neutrogena Healthy Skin foundation, Maybelline Fit Me foundation, L’Oreal True Match Lumi foundation, a few NYC lip stains, and some NYC Quick Dry nail polishes. I can’t wait to try everything out and capture some swatches with the DSLR. Fun times!

I also went to Whole Foods and grabbed a jar of virgin coconut oil which I’ve heard is fabulous for moisturizing the skin. We’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Collective Haul

    • Thanks! I don’t think I’ll be a pro anytime soon. I still haven’t gotten used to the weight and size of the camera yet. So awkward. 😛

      I have high hopes for the coconut oil.

Comments are closed.