Homemade Bagel Chips

Bagel Chips

I love bagel chips but a small 7 oz bag at the supermarket will usually cost around $4 which isn’t a very good value. I can do better than that.

Bagel Chips

At the supermarkets I shop at whenever they overproduce baked goods they’ll bundle up the extra breads/bagels they have into discounted sacks because they know they won’t be able to sell leftover goods the next day. On my most recent shopping trip I bought two of these bags. One was a sack of 16 poppy seed Kaiser rolls (which I’ll be saving for burgers and sandwiches) and the other contained 16 sesame and poppy seed bagels. Both bags were marked down to $2.50 each.

Bagel Chips

I love bagels so eating so many of them hasn’t been a hardship on me. They’re great layered with cold cuts as sandwiches; toasted with butter, veggie cream cheese, Nutella or jelly on top; fantastic with a little marinara and mozzarella as pizza bagels; or slathered with a little zesty Italian dressing, fresh tomato, basil and cheese for a hot open-faced sandwich.

But what I really wanted to make today was bagel chips and the recipe’s simple.

Preheat the oven to 350. Slice four bagels into thin slices, no thicker than 1/4 inch. You can choose to cut them into small circles or longer pieces or a mix of both like I did.

Bagel Chips

Working in small batches, spritz both sides of the slices with oil and toss with a combination of Parmesan cheese, black pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. You can also add some dried herbs like oregano or basil but I chose to keep it simple. I like my bagel chips lightly seasoned so I omitted salt but feel free to add some.

Place the bagel chips on a baking sheet in a single layer making sure none of the pieces overlap. Bake for 10 minutes then flip each of the bagel chips over and bake for another 10-15 mintues until light golden brown and crisp.

Bagel Chips

Transfer the chips to a cooling rack before placing them into a container. If you don’t allow the chips to cool first and put them away they’ll produce steam/condensation in the container and lose their crispness.

The bagel chips are great to snack on all on their own but they’re also delicious served alongside stews and soups.

