Maybelline Color Tattoo Eyeshadow – Barely Beige

Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige

I finally came across a nearly depleted Maybelline display containing the limited editions Color Tattoo eyeshadows at (of all places!) the supermarket. Compared to drugstores and Target/Walmart, the price was a little steeper at $7.99 each for a 0.14 oz (4 g) jar. But I figured this would probably be the first and last time I’d ever come across these shadows so I decided to splurge.

The Color Tattoos have been on my wish list for quite some time now but I never bit the bullet because I was afraid they’d end up being another failure like the L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadow that I absolutely hated. If you recall, Iced Latte creased badly on my lids and had disappointing lasting power.

After testing out Maybelline’s Barely Beige for the past couple of days I have to say it’s definitely leagues ahead of Iced Latte!

Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige

Unlike the L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadow that’s more of a loosely pressed pigment, Maybelline’s Color Tattoo has a cream formula that feels surprisingly thin and slick. I had actually expected something much thicker and more opaque.

Texturally, the consistency of Barely Beige reminds me a lot of the e.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeshadows. Although I use brushes sometimes, I tend to apply cream shadows with my fingers and in my opinion Barely Beige and the e.l.f. Studio cream shadows feel very, very similar. The e.l.f. version is perhaps just the tiniest bit more creamy and thick but not by much. And as I’ve said many, many times already, I absolutely love the e.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeshadows: great colors, easy application, inexpensive, creaseless and budgeproof with phenomenal wear.

Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige

Barely Beige is a sheer but buildable shimmery nude shade compared to Iced Latte which was more pale, golden and frosty. On the skin, the shimmer particles in Barely Beige are visible and can cause the eyeshadow to appear patchy and not so smooth if it isn’t blended well.

Note: I haven’t been as good about applying sunscreen to my body as I have to my face. As a result, my arms are darker than the skin on my face.

Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige

Layered, Barely Beige has a subtle brightening effect on my naturally darker lids. The eyeshadow never comes close to achieving total opacity — I can still see the darkness of my lids peeking through — but its color is buildable.

Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige (left), bare eye (right)

Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige

For my initial test drive, I applied Barely Beige sloppily with my fingers but in the future I’ll use a brush. As you can see, a lot of Barely Beige ended up in my lashes and set there before I could wipe it off. Fail!

Although I wish the finish of Barely Beige was a little more like Iced Latte or the e.l.f Studio Cream Eyeshadows that had more of a smoothing effect on the eyelids (with the exception of Natural Glow which had chunky shimmer/glitter), the staying power is fantastic! I wore it all day around the house and didn’t experience any creasing or fading.

Maybelline Color Tattoo Barely Beige

I also bought Mossy Green on impulse but I haven’t tried it yet. I’m not even sure why I got it since I usually prefer lighter neutrals. It must have been because of those pretty swatches I’ve seen online.

Maybelline Color Tattoo Moss Green & Barely Beige

One thought on “Maybelline Color Tattoo Eyeshadow – Barely Beige

  1. You should try loreal eternal sunshine and bronzed taupe those won’t disappoint!!! Maybelline color tattoo in bad to the bronze is my favorite.

Comments are closed.