Budget-Friendly Tart Warmer

Original Candle Warmer by Candle Warmers Etc.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m still loving the 24 watt Candle Warmers Etc. electric tart warmer I purchased back in February. At only $13.99 it was a great investment and I’m glad I bought it. However, the high wattage means it packs a powerful punch scent-wise.

A major pro (or con, depending on your perspective) to using a high wattage tart warmer is that it provides an intense blast of scent but the scent doesn’t last as long. It’s an awesome buy if you have a home with a big, open floor-plan because the scent throw you get from this warmer is insane. For smaller rooms, though, it can be overkill and that’s exactly the problem I ran into when I tried using this warmer in my small bedroom. The scent throw I got from using an itty bitty wax cube was too overwhelming. Honestly, it was suffocating.

A pro/con to using a lower wattage tart warmer is that it provides a milder scent throw but the scent lingers for a longer period of time. I decided right away to find a lower wattage tart warmer. Since I was already a fan of the low maintenance electric plate type of warmer, I immediately skipped over the tea light and electric lightbulb tart warmers and decided to stick with what I love.

While I was still contemplating whether or not I would stick with Candle Warmers Etc. or try a different brand, I came across an unbelievably cheap tart warmer that met all of my requirements. I was at Bed Bath & Beyond browsing the baking aisle and right as I was about to leave I was hit in the face with a powerful mix of fragrances. Ah! I remembered that BBB sold Yankee Candles so I walked on over to the home fragrance section and, whaddya know, sitting on a shelf were a bunch of Candle Warmers Etc. brand electric tart warmers! They only carried two different styles but they had a lot of each. The first style is very similar to the 24 watt warmer that I own but in a different design called Cream Emboss for $13-$14. The second warmer, though, is what I ended up buying.

It’s a very basic, bare-bones style of plate warmer. The base is white plastic, the electric cord has an on/off switch, and there’s a red indicator light on the back letting you know when the plate is in use. It may not be as pretty as the 24 watt warmer but it does what it’s supposed to do. I planned on using the new warmer in my bedroom which isn’t exactly a high traffic area so appearance wasn’t a priority. The price tag? Only $2.99!

Candle Warmers Etc.

This particular model is known as the Original Candle Warmer and if you go to Candle Warmers Etc.’s website you’ll notice that they actually sell if for $5.99 online.

The heating surface (black area) is approximately the same diameter as the 24 watt warmer. As you can see, the ceramic bowl from my 24 watt warmer fits nicely on the 17 watt warmer.

Candle Warmers Etc.

Also, just like the ceramic warmer, a large 14.5 oz Slatkin candle can sit directly on the 17 watt warmer without any problems. No surprise there because this model was designed to melt candles. But I mainly wanted to use it to melt wax tarts, so I had to find a cheap bowl to go with my new toy.

Candle Warmers Etc.

I went back to the baking aisle and decided to get an inexpensive glass bowl. I could’ve gotten a ceramic ramekin but I figured if glass candle jars can sit on a warmer fine then a glass bowl would be all right. It was cheaper, too. I can’t remember exactly now but it was either $0.99 or $1.99.

Candle Warmers Etc.

I’ve been using the glass bowl on the 17 watt warmer for two weeks so far and it’s been working perfectly. The tarts have melted and the glass hasn’t cracked or shattered. The glass of the bowl is pretty thick so I wasn’t really worried that it would break anyway.

Candle Warmers Etc.

But then this past week I came across an even better deal. I was at Dollar Tree walking up and down the aisles and came across a stack of three glass bowls for only $1 in the housewares section. The bowls are slightly smaller but otherwise they look like mini-me versions of the BBB glass bowl. A whole Yankee Candle tart has more than enough room to melt inside of it.

Candle Warmers Etc.

So, there you have it, if you’ve been looking for an inexpensive electric tart warmer and looks take a backseat to function and price, then consider the Original Candle Warmer by the brand Candle Warmers Etc. at Bed Bath & Beyond. For as little as $3.99 ($2.99 for the warmer + $1 for a few bowls) you could have yourself a great candle/tart warmer. Of course, for a little more money you could always customize your tart warmer with a decorative ceramic bowl. It’s up to you.

One thought on “Budget-Friendly Tart Warmer

  1. I’m going to search for this in my local BB&B! I’ve been interested in using tarts more often but hate having to use tea light candles, they burn out too quick!

Comments are closed.