Wax haul, BBW semi-annual sale, and miscellaneous

Bath and Body Works

And here’s all of the other stuff I bought while I’ve been away. Clearly my no-buy/low-buy is at an end! LOL

Bath and Body Works is discontinuing several fragrances from their Signature collection, including Into the Wild and Forever Sunshine. I already have the body mists but I’ve always been curious about trying the eau de toilette versions, and since they were on clearance for 50% off I decided to get both. They came out to being $14.75 per bottle but I hear that they’ve gone down to 75% each now, so I’m going to head back soon and get a price adjustment.

I also bought the body sprays in Twilight Woods and Secret Wonderland which are my two favorite BBW scents, as well as a bottle of Warm Vanilla Sugar. These were all in the $3 clearance bin. Definitely beats $14 each (or even B3G3) for the Fine Fragrance Mists.

Bath and Body Works and Walmart

I managed to score two ceramic frog mini-candle holders ($2.75 each) and two metal 3-wick candle sleeves ($2.50 each). I was really hoping to find the ceramic turtle mini-candle holders, too, but either my store never had any or they sold out really fast 😦

I don’t have any 14.5 ounce candles at the moment so for now the candle sleeves are serving as brush holders. BTW Excuse the lint brush and dirty makeup brushes. Oh, and as you can see I finally got around to buying some Real Technique brushes. I’ve seen tons of vloggers and bloggers raving about the brand so I finally caved and settled on getting the Blush Brush and Expert Face Brush. They’re still in the packaging and I’ve yet to try them.

Last but not least at BBW I purchased two mini-candles in scents that I’d been meaning to try for awhile: Lemon Mint Leaf and Ice Cream Shop. I have to say I prefer Ice Cream Shop to Summer Boardwalk which I know is a fan fave. I guess I don’t care so much for the apple note in Summer Boardwalk.

Bath and Body Works and Walmart

While I was at Walmart waiting to pick up a prescription for my mom, I checked out the wax aisle as usual. I only bought one tart on that trip: Better Homes and Gardens’ Warm Vanilla Creme. However, I saw some new (to me) candles on display and couldn’t them up. All of the scents sounded so yummy! I bought two Mainstays candles in the scents Key Lime Pie (smells like Fruity Pebbles) and Hazelnut Cream. I also bought two Better Homes and Gardens candles in the scents Old Fashioned Lemonade (smells like Lemonheads) and Country Kettle Corn. The Old Fashioned Lemonade is a limited edition scent for Summer 2012 and it’s amazing I found it before it sold out but I nearly squealed in glee when I saw Country Kettle Corn because it was a limited edition item from Fall 2011! It was a Walmart miracle! I’m already a big fan of the tart version so I had to scoop up the candle.

Better Homes and Gardens

I’ve been intrigued by the idea of etailer tarts and candles for awhile. There are so many independent companies out there but based on all of the positive reviews I decided to dip my toe into the etailer tart world starting with Front Porch Candle Co. Their individual tarts are incredibly cheap — only $1.75 each — and there’s always free shipping with no minimum order! The only downside is that while they offer a lot of scents, they don’t stock much of each scent at any one time so everything sells out amazingly fast. If you see something you want, you need to stick it in your cart right away before someone else takes it. However the upside is that they take scent requests on Facebook and if there’s a scent you want to try but they’re sold out you can let them know and they’ll add it the next time they update their site which is everyday Monday through Saturday.

For my first order I decided to get Nana’s Banana Pudding, Orange Dreamsickle, S’mores, Fruity Loops, Red Velvet Cake, and Coconut Cream Pie. I love that the tarts are so cheap because it’s a great way to try out a bunch of different scents, and if I fall in love with anything I can then buy the larger wax packs.

The other etailer I wanted to try is Kim’s Tarts but I went with Front Porch first because they seemed to have an overwhelming majority of raves and positive feedback and the great customer service and communication is a huge plus.

Front Porch Candle Company

Yankee Candle is also running their own semi-annual sale at the moment and I’d never tried any of their products before either. I ended up buying a bunch of tarts and votives to sample. There’s Orange Dreamsicle, Almond Cookie, Vanilla Lime, Christmas Cookies, Buttercream, Maple Pancakes, Christmas Cupcake, Vanilla Cupcake, Canary Island Banana, and Sparkling Lemon.

Yankee Candle

I also bought a little bit of jewelry off of ebay, namely a stretchy spike bracelet and a silver fish ring. Each item was less than $3. Not too shabby.

ebay

I actually really like this bracelet even though it’s typically not my style. It’s stretchy so it slips on and off really easily. And I love the brushed bronze finish which makes it look not so cheap. I just have to be careful when I have it on and not make any big gestures with my arms. I wouldn’t want to poke someone’s eyes out with the spikes.

ebay

I was introduced to Sneakpeeq.com through a YouTuber I follow, aprilathena7. The concept of the site is similar to Hautelook and Gilt in the sense that they all have flash sales of featured brands. Sneakpeeq offers lots of products ranging from makeup and skincare to clothes and home goods. Recent brands that I’ve seen featured include leighelena (a brand that YouTuber lislisad1 adores and sells on her blog), Amrita Singh, Besame, and Real Techniques. Since April is affiliated with the site, there was a special promo when I signed up through her referral link (no longer valid) that included a free ring as well as $10 off and free shipping on my first purchase. I used that coupon to get the Real Techniques Blush Brush and Expert Face Brush which came together as a set (pictured above) for a little less than $7 — not each but TOTAL. Amazing deal. And my purchase came with a free ring. The only bad thing is Sneakpeeq selected a random size and color to send and I ended up with a ring that was a size too big. Oh well, free is free.

ebay and Sneakpeeq

And, finally, while I’ve been away from the blogging world my Target beauty bag arrived in the mail. Everyone’s already blogged and vlogged about the items included inside so I won’t bore you by repeating info you already know. I’m not sure about the rest of you but I think the best part of the Target beauty bag is always the bag itself anyway, so here’s a photo of all the beauty bags that I possess. My faves are probably the first two.

Target

One thought on “Wax haul, BBW semi-annual sale, and miscellaneous

Comments are closed.