Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil

For the past month I’ve been trying out the Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil that I received compliments of BzzAgent.

If you’d like to learn more about my experiences with the BzzAgent organization please refer to my blog entry here.

Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil

The other items included in my Fillipo Berio BzzKit included several coupons and recipes to share with friends, a helpful magnet with measurement conversions, a jar opener, and an information booklet about healthy living and eating the Mediterranean way.

Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Compared to other types of oils, such as vegetable oil, Extra Virgin Olive Oil has a lower smoke point so it’s better for recipes that require low heat or no heat, like vinaigrette or salad dressing. After perusing the recipes on the Filippo Berio website I settled first on making their Coal Miners’ Style Spaghetti, otherwise known as carbonara. It’s categorized on the website under the section “5 Ingredients or Less” so it’s an incredibly easy recipe to make.

Coal Miners’ Style Spaghetti

If you’ve ever tasted Extra Virgin Olive Oil you know that it has a very distinctive flavor. The Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil is no different. The flavor is very assertive and very prominent. For a gal used to the very neutral flavor of vegetable oil and canola oil, this EVOO is quite strong. I think it’s an acquired taste, one that I’ve yet to acquire but I’m trying, but if you’re a fan of EVOO this is one to check out.

Rather than for cooking, I ended up using the olive oil mostly for skincare. Olive Oil contains vitamins and antioxidants, is supposed to fight free radicals, and is very moisturizing. It’s fantastic as a skin moisturizer and even as a makeup remover (the oil will dissolve even the most stubborn waterproof makeup). As a moisturizer I’ve found that olive oil works best on slightly damp — not soaking wet — skin; somehow the skin absorbs it better and it leaves less of a greasy residue.

Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil

