Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream

Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream

As you know I’ve been purging and selling off a lot of my used and unused makeup so I haven’t really been buying much in the way of cosmetics lately. I recently got rid of a bunch of concealers that either weren’t the right shade for me anymore or just weren’t moisturizing enough for my dry skin so I was in serious need of a replacement. Concealer, specifically under eye concealer, is one of three makeup products that I just can’t live without.

Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream

I’ve literally contemplated purchasing the Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Undereye Concealer Cream for years but I’ve always held back. This particular concealer contains salmon roe extract which is supposed to help minimize under eye darkness. I’ve heard lots of positive and negative things about it. Some have said it’s a miracle worker while others have said that it creases badly and doesn’t offer enough coverage. At the time, I had too many concealers and couldn’t justify buying another one.

Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream

After whittling down my concealer/corrector collection, I was left with a CoverGirl concealer, Coastal Scents Bright Eyed, and the Pixi Correction Concentrate. Now, the Coastal Scents and Pixi products I actually consider color correctors rather than concealers. And the CoverGirl concealer stick, while I really like it, is currently too dark for my face. Since I’ve had very good experiences with the S. Korean brand’s BB creams and I really needed to buy a new concealer, I finally had a legitimate reason to get the Skinfood concealer.

The Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream comes in two shades. I chose to get the lighter shade in #1 from rubyruby76, a South Korea-based ebay seller. The total cost with shipping was $9.50 which is extremely reasonable.

Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream (left), Pixi Correction Concentrate (right)

The cream comes shrink wrapped in a little screw-top jar with a massive 10 grams of product. To give you a better idea of the size of this bad boy I took a photo of it next to the Pixi corrector ($15 for 3 g) and a quarter as a point of reference.

Left to right: CoverGirl CG Smoothers (light), Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream (#1), Pixi Correction Concentrate, Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory)

Swatched below, you can see that the Coastal Scents Bright Eyed is the pinkest and palest out of the bunch whereas the Skinfood is the most yellow.

The CoverGirl, Skinfood and Pixi all possess a cream formula and out of these three the Pixi has the thickest consistency. The CoverGirl and Skinfood both feel much thinner in comparison and the Skinfood is the sheerest of all.

Left to right: CoverGirl CG Smoothers (light), Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream (#1), Pixi Correction Concentrate, Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory)

Although the Skinfood concealer goes on less opaque than the others initially, I’m still a fan because I’m able to build up the coverage without it looking cakey. This definitely isn’t a full coverage concealer. I’d say light to medium coverage at best.

The Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream has a dewy (non-shimmer) finish so it gives the under eyes a slightly moisturized appearance. I have dry to very dry skin so I’m a fan of that. Concealers with a matte/powdery finish just aren’t for me.

Unfortunately, I have fine lines underneath my eyes and I find that this concealer is prone to creasing. Unless I want to touch up often, I really have to set the Skinfood concealer with powder. But obviously when I top it with powder I ruin the dewy finish 😦

The Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream definitely has a bit of a scent that’s really familiar but I can’t quite place it. It’s not fruity, floral, perfume-y or fishy (thank goodness!). It kind of reminds me of the “makeup-y” scents from those cheap cosmetics kits. I can only smell it when I hold the jar up to my nose; once it’s on my face I don’t notice the smell at all.

Below, I’ve compared the coverage of the Coastal Scents Bright Eyed with the Skinfood concealer. The differences aren’t as apparent in the photos but in person the Coastal Scents is more eye brightening, more opaque and more matte. The Skinfood looks dewier but is sheerer so the under eye darkness peeks through. However, as stated before the Skinfood can be built up to medium coverage. I can’t do the same with the Coastal Scents. The Coastal Scents starts off looking more opaque but if I try to build it up it starts to look more powdery/cakey, and its pinkness against the yellowness of my skin becomes more obvious. The Coastal Scents, for me, is strictly a color corrector and brightener, not a concealer.

I’ve only had this concealer for about a week so I have yet to try it but I think if I layer the Skinfood concealer over the Coastal Scents I might get the brightening effect of the Coastal Scents with the dewiness of the Skinfood. Of course, it might just end up being a crease-y, cakey mess. We’ll see.

One thing I want to add is if, like me, you’ve been thinking about buying the Skinfood concealer consider giving the CoverGirl CG Smoothers stick concealer a try first. In my opinion, the texture and dewy finish of it are very similar to the Skinfood but the CoverGirl offers better coverage. Plus, if you get it at CVS, Walgreens, or Rite Aid and you end up not liking it you can return it. You can’t do the same with the Skinfood.

And if you’ve already tried the Skinfood I would suggest giving the CoverGirl concealer a try. In my opinion, using one concealer is a good way of figuring out if you’ll like (or hate) the other concealer. If the Skinfood’s consistency and finish worked for you, the Cover Girl likely will as well and I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised by the coverage. And if you dislike the consistency and finish of one of these you’ll probably dislike the other for the same reason.

ETA: I’ve just tried the new CoverGirl + Olay Concealer Balm and it’s quite similar in consistency to the CG Smoothers concealer and thus the Skinfood concealer as well. The big difference is that it’s not nearly as dewy as either the CG Smoothers or Skinfood Salmon concealers, so if you wanted something similar in texture and coverage to those two but with a finish that’s more matte then give the CoverGirl + Olay Concealer Balm a try.

Bare under eyes

Bare under eye (left), Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream (right)

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (left), Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream (right)

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (left), Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream (right). Please excuse the cross-eyed-ness. Looking into the camera’s LCD screen 2 inches from my face always does that to me.

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (left), Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream (right)

3 thoughts on “Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream

  1. Hi, I was wondering if you ever tried the Giorgio Armani Beauty Master Corrector. I’ve heard great things about it, about how it blends well and does not crease.
    I have the same undereye skin problem as you (lines and bumps) so I believe that in terms of texture, whatever works for you will work for me.

    • Sorry, no, I haven’t tried that one yet. I’ve also heard rave reviews about that corrector. Maybe someday I’ll give it a try.

Comments are closed.