Venus & Olay Razor

Venus & Olay Razor

The Venus & Olay Razor was the last complimentary item I received to test and review as part of my InfluensterLove VoxBox

What they say:

  • Venus’ five-bladed razors shave you close and adjust to women’s curves for a smooth and comfortable shave, even over tricky shaving areas like knees and ankles.
  • Olay Moisture Bars contain skin-enhancing elements found in Olay products: Petrolatum helps lock in skin’s moisture for less dryness and Glycerin helps offer that goddess glow! Just wet the razor to release a light lather – no separate shave cream required.
  • As with most Venus razors, new Venus & Olay also features a rounded, pivoting head designed for women’s curves, and a soft-grip ergonomic handle for confident control, even in wet and soapy environment.

Where to Buy
A refillable Venus & Olay with one replacement cartridge sells for approximately $8.99-$10.99. Packages of three replacement cartridges are available for about $14.99 – $19.49.

Venus & Olay will be available starting March 15, 2012 at food, drug, convenience and mass merchandise stores throughout the United States.

Venus & Olay Razor

I was really excited to try this razor because the one I’d been using was the Venus ProSkin MoistureRich 3-blade razor. If you’ve read my review for that product you’ll know that my feelings for the ProSkin razor were rather lukewarm. I loved the close shave it gave but I thought the MoistureRich gel bars on the razor were mildly disgusting because they became rather slimy when wet. When I learned that the Venus & Olay razor was going to be included in this VoxBox I couldn’t wait to test and compare the two.

Venus & Olay Razor

Venus & Olay Razor

One difference I noticed right away is that the ProSkin came with two cartridges whereas the Venus & Olay razor only comes with one. Perhaps the Gillette company believes that giving us an extra two blades on the Venus & Olay razor makes up for the lack of a spare cartridge. I’ve used the Venus & Olay razor twice already and it definitely provides a close shave which is something I love but I don’t think I get a noticeably closer shave with it compared to the Venus Proskin. I’m sort of missing the extra cartridge because I know I won’t get as much use out this razor as I did with the ProSkin, so it doesn’t seem as good a value  😦

Venus & Olay Razor

However one thing I do love about the Venus & Olay razor is the Olay Moisture Bars. Unlike the gel bars on the ProSkin, the Moisture Bars on the Venus & Olay don’t become slimy when wet. Instead they release a light lather on the skin, providing just enough lubrication for the razor to glide easily over the skin without causing razor burn. Best of all I love the scent! The Olay Moisture Bars have a soft vanilla scent which I find really pleasant.

I also find the Olay Moisture Bars more moisturizing compared to the Proskin gel bars. After shaving with the Venus & Olay razor my skin feels soft and smooth whereas with the ProSkin my skin felt a little dry and tight and I needed to moisturize with lotion right away. I definitely preferred using a separate shave gel with the ProSkin but I feel I can get away without using one with the Venus & Olay razor.

Consider me a fan of the Venus & Olay razor. I love the scent, I love the close shave that the razor blades provide, and I love the softening and moisturizing effect the moisture bars have on my skin. The only problem I have with this razor is the lack of a spare cartridge but all in all I think it’s a wonderful product and I would likely repurchase.

