CVS Haul – NYC Quick Dry Nail Polishes & Suave Everlasting Sunshine

Suave Everlasting Sunshine

So much for my no-buy. All it takes is one little crack in the foundation for the entire structure to crumble. In my case, the Rite Aid bath and body clearance sale did it for me. *sigh*

I had a few coupons set to expire and I couldn’t bear to let them go to waste. One was a CVS 25% off coupon and the other two were coupons for 50 cents off any Suave Everlasting Sunshine purchase.

I’ve really wanted to try the Suave Everlasting Sunshine products ever since I read about them on Nouveau Cheap and since my coupons were going to expire this weekend I figured it was now or never. Everlasting Sunshine is available in a range of products such as shampoo and conditioner but since I only had two coupons I had to limit myself to two products. I intended on getting the body lotion and the clinical strength antiperspirant but my CVS didn’t carry the latter product. Apparently not a lot of stores are stocking that antiperspirant yet so I had to settle for the regular strength antiperspirant. Oh, well, maybe next time.

As for the scent, I love it! It’s the best thing I’ve smelled recently. Suave describes Everlasting Sunshine as “the fresh fragrance of passion flower and vanilla” but to me it smells more like pears and apples with a hint of vanilla. In case you’re wondering, it smells nothing like Bath & Body Works Forever Sunshine which, depending on whether or not you’re a fan, may or may not be a good thing. In my opinion BBW Forever Sunshine smells like praline and oranges; it’s stronger, sharper and more assertive. In comparison Everlasting Sunshine is softer and “rounder” (not sharp), if that makes any sense. It’s like comparing apples and oranges…literally. Fragrances are so subjective, though, so I definitely suggest checking out Everlasting Sunshine in person. Your nose may pick up on completely different fragrance notes than mine.

I’m stocked up on shampoo and conditioner right now — CVS ran a $0.77 sale on all VO5 shampoos and conditioners — so that’s why I didn’t get the matching Everlasting Sunshine hair products.

I chose the deodorant because I want my pits to smell as good as the rest of my body. LOL Personally, I find it annoying when my underarms smell like baby powder and the rest of my body smells like fruits or like a baked good. The scents totally clash. It’s not often that a lotion is available in a matching deodorant so when I can get a matched pair, I do.

NYC Highline Green, Peaches ‘N Cream, Mint Macaroon

I also grabbed a few NYC Quick Dry nail polishes, my favorite drugstore nail polish brand. It’s cheap, comes in a range of colors and the quality is pretty darn good in my opinion.

NYC came out with a few new shades in their permanent collection. I chose Highline Green, a beautiful green creme, and I intend to get the new blue creme (Water Street Blue) eventually.

I was fortunate enough to spot NYC’s limited edition City Sweets collection and snatched one bottle each of Peaches ‘N Cream and Mint Macaroon. To my eye Mint Macaroon leans more robin’s egg blue than the typical mint green.

There were also bottles of a pink and lavender shade in the collection but I skipped those because they looked like they’d be a little too pale and cool-toned for me. Besides, I’m already pretty satisfied with the pink and lavender shades in their core collection so the limited edition pink and lavender seemed redundant to me. If I remember correctly, all four shades in the City Sweets collection are cremes.

