Home Fragrance Haul

Home Fragrance Haul

I did a little home fragrance haulin’ over the weekend. My first one ever 🙂

I attended my first Bath & Body Works Event on Saturday, St. Paddy’s Day. So exciting! The store was repromoting the Signature Vanillas (Lemon, Berry and Apricot in shower gels and body lotions only) and held a raffle for a limited edition bicycle. The bike’s super cute…it has a vintage appearance with the BBW’s signature blue and white gingham print and a wicker basket in the front. I submitted my name; here’s hoping I win 😀

Customers could also try the three new Wild Garden fine fragrance mists in Wild Citrus Sunflower (my fave out of the trio!), Wild Berry Tulips, and Wild Apple Daffodil but sadly they weren’t available to purchase. Not only that, but there was a special promotion: make any home fragrance purchase and get a free soap and tote. I decided it was a good time to try my first BBW candles and I chose Market Peach and Coconut Water. The candles were 2/$5 which was enough to get me a free Fresh Picked Peach foaming soap and bag. Yay!

Bath & Body Works Fresh Picked Party

While I was at Walmart waiting to pick up a pharmacy prescription for my mom I decided to take a look around in the home fragrance aisle. As you know I’m a total newbie when it comes to candles and tarts so I spent a good 30 minutes just sniffing everything. At $2 apiece it was very tempting to grab 10 or 20 different tarts but in the end I decided to try one tart scent from Better Homes & Garden and one tart from the Scentsationals brand.

OMG, the BHG Orange Buttercream Cupcake smells exactly like Fruity Pebbles cereal which is one of my favorite cereals of all-time. Yum. The Scentsationals Cupcake tart smells just like boxed cake mix. Pillsbury Funfetti cake mix to be exact. The green candle in Lime Sherbet was a total impulse buy. It was love at first sniff. You know those green, lime flavored lollipops you get at the doctor’s office? Well, this is the candle version of that.

I already know the tart I’m going to get the next time I’m at Walmart: Better Homes & Gardens’ Soft Cashmere Amber. It reminds me a lot of Bath & Body Works’ Twilight Woods and I’ve mentioned before how obsessed I am with that scent.

Walmart tarts and candle

I decided to give the Dollar Tree tarts and candles a chance. I mean they’re only a dollar, right? I chose Vanilla which I figured would be the least offensive scent and after trying one cube in my candle warmer I must admit it smelled pretty good and not funky at all. I usually keep the warmer in the living room and while Vanilla’s not a super strong fragrance I could definitely smell it from the adjacent rooms. It’s present but not overpowering.

Dollar Tree and Walmart tarts and candles

Clamshell tarts

Here’s a closer look at the scented wax tarts in case you’ve never seen one before.

People call these “clamshell” tarts. I’m not sure why. I think it’s because of the plastic packaging that opens up like a clam. *shrugs* Just a guess.

The Dollar Tree tarts come with 4 cubes, the BHG and Scentsationals tarts with 6. You simply break off one, two or however many cubes you want and pop them into your candle warmer to melt. Of course, the more cubes you use the stronger the fragrance will be. As the wax cube warms and melts, the fragrance is released. It works just like a scented candle but without the flame.

Clamshell tarts

2 thoughts on “Home Fragrance Haul

  1. Got to be the best when your home smells good enough to eat!!! Especially like vanilla cake or lemon pie!!!!!!

Comments are closed.