Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza - Pizza Mozarella

I recently had the opportunity to try two varieties of Dr. Oetker’s frozen Ristorante Pizzas through my involvement with the BzzAgent organization. If you need to know more about my experience as a BzzAgent you can read my blog entry here.

In my Ristorante Pizza BzzKit I received two vouchers for free pizzas and several $1.50 off coupons and magnet pads to share.

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza BzzKit

I had never heard of Dr. Oetker pizzas prior to joining this Bzz campaign because none of the supermarkets near me carry the brand. However, according to the included literature, apparently Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza has been in Europe since 1985 and they’re the “#1 frozen pizza in Italy.” They even claim to be as good as Italian restaurant quality pizza. That’s one big claim!

I had to go to the Dr. Oetker website to locate a store that sells the brand so I could use my vouchers. Once I did that I had to decide on which flavors to try. Frankly, all of them sounded quite tasty.

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza flavors

Originally, I intended to buy one Pizza Mozzarella and one Pizza Speciale but unfortunately the store I went to didn’t have any of the latter in stock so I ended up getting a Pizza Spinaci instead. I don’t really like spinach but a pizza with garlic sauce sounded interesting. And I chose the Pizza Mozzarella because I felt that would give me the cleanest, simplest flavor so I could really taste the cheese and crust. The crust is my favorite part of the pizza so the quality of the crust really makes or breaks a pizza.

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza - Pizza Spinaci & Pizza Mozzarella

If I remember correctly, the vouchers covered the cost of a pizza up to a $6 value which was lucky for me because at my particular store each Dr. Oetker pizza cost $5.99! In my opinion, that’s quite steep for a frozen pizza, easpecially when the competitor pizzas right next to Dr. Oetker are all under $3 with or without sales. I would never pay $6 for a frozen pizza when I can make my own for a lot less (as shown here, here, here, and here).

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza - Pizza Spinaci & Pizza Mozzarella

Each Dr. Oetker pizza comes frozen and covered in plastic wrap.

The pizza measures 10 inches in diameter which is a little bigger than the size of my hand.

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza - Pizza Mozzarella

It has a thin style crust that reminds me of Greek and Middle Eastern flatbreads.

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza - Pizza Mozzarella

Simply peel the plastic away and place it into a preheated oven to bake. It’s as easy as that. And in 12-14 minutes you’ll have hot bubbling pizza ready to eat.

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza - Pizza Mozzarella

The baked crust has a very cracker-like consistency typical of many other brands of frozen pizzas. It’s not doughy or fluffy at all.

As expected, the Pizza Mozzarella has very clean, simple flavors. I can really taste the tomatoes, cheese and pesto sauce, and the crust has a crispy crunch in my mouth. I’m a fan of thin crust pizzas so I like it.

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza - Pizza Mozzarella

The Pizza Spinaci has more assertive flavors compared to the Pizza Mozzarella. I was surprised to taste the spinach. I thought the garlic sauce would’ve overpowered everything else but I could definitely pick out the flavor of leafy greens.

The Pizza Spinaci is good but I prefer the Pizza Mozzarella.

Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza - Pizza Spinaci

According to the back of the box, one pizza can serve three people. Maybe three small children but there’s no way it could feed one hungry adult much less three adults.

I tried the pizzas with a few friends and luckily for us I had planned a salad and pasta side dish to supplement the pizzas otherwise we would’ve been fighting over crumbs.

Verdict: Tasty, flavorful toppings on a thin, crispy crust. Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza is a good frozen pizza choice but way overpriced and doesn’t compare to restaurant quality pizzas. I would gladly pay $3 for the pizza but not $6. I also think the suggested serving size is ridiculous. To me one pizza is equivalent to a single serving size. I’m a smallish gal and I could finish one by myself so I don’t think a single pizza would be enough for a large, hungry man.

