Fish Scale Bracelet

Fish scale bracelet

I’ve really been into fragrances lately but I’ve also started getting more interested in costume jewelry. Most recently I’ve been searching for a great fish/snake scale bracelet. JewelMint has one called the Black Swan Cuff but it always sells out quickly. I’ve even seen talk show host Wendy Williams selling her snake scale version on QVC. However, those two bracelets run $29-$45 each. I was sure I could something similar for less.

I did some searching on eBay for “fish scale bracelet” and a bunch of results from tons of sellers immediately popped up. The bracelet comes in silver, gold and gray/black. I chose the one in black but as you can see it’s really more of a dark gray with a very shiny, chrome metallic finish.

The best part is that the bracelet costs less than $3 with free international shipping. Score!

Obviously this bracelet lacks the textural detail and etching on the scales that the Jewelmint and QVC bracelets possess but for $3 I wasn’t expecting to find a perfect dupe. And honestly I don’t think most passersby would notice the finer details on the Jewelmint and QVC bracelets unless they were looking at the bracelets up close. Personally, I was shopping for a fish scale bracelet, not necessarily dupes for the JewelMint or QVC bracelets, and I think I found a good one for cheap.

The eBay bracelet’s not very heavy but it has a decent amount of weight to it and doesn’t feel chintzy like it’s going to break or bend out of shape like tin foil.

One thing I will say, though, is that because of the shiny, smooth chrome finish the eBay bracelet is a fingerprint magnet. When you wear it, try not to handle it more than you need. To avoid smudges, I slip the bracelet onto my wrist by holding the bracelet by the thin, top and bottom edge and not the shiny, scaly surface.

Fish scale bracelet

Fish scale bracelet

Fish scale bracelet

I prefer to wear my bracelets down on my wrists so they dangle loosely but I know others prefer to wear their cuffs up higher on their arm. To each his own. The bracelet’s definitely big enough to wear either way though.

Fish scale bracelet

Fish scale bracelet

One thought on “Fish Scale Bracelet

  1. I have the same thing! I got it at the American Women’s Bazaar here in the Philippines last Oct 2011 and it’s been my favorite accessory since. I’ve seen it too a couple of times at Christmas bazaars here in Manila, also about $3. I even have a black Steve Madden clutch with the same fish scale pattern. They’re super cute together!

Comments are closed.