Candle Warmers, Etc. – Ceramic Candle Warmer & Dish

Candle Warmers, Etc. ceramic candle warmer & dish (Sandstone)

As I mentioned in a previous blog entry my interest in Bath and Body Works has been (re)awakened and as a direct consequence of that I suddenly find myself interested in home fragrances which is completely new territory for me.

I have never in my life owned a scented candle. The only candles in my home are unscented, plain white candles that I only bring out in case of a blackout. However in recent weeks I’ve found myself sniffing the candles, fragrance oils, room sprays, and wax tarts at Bath and Body Works and Walmart. It’s so incredibly weird and out of character for me.

Rather than candles, I decided that scented wax tarts were the best option for me and did a little research to find the best tart warmer for my needs. To my knowledge there are three main types of tart warmers: tart warmers that use a tea light as the heat source, electric tart warmers that use a small light bulb as the heat source, and electric tart warmers that have a flat heated plate as the heat source. After a little research I determined that the electric plate warmer was the best option for me and settled on one from the brand Candle Warmers, Etc.

These were my reasons for choosing tarts and the electric plate warmer:

  • Tarts don’t have wicks which means no flame or smoke. My roommate in college burned candles and the wall behind where she kept her candles was stained with soot/smoke after a few months. I have eggshell white walls so I really don’t want to burn any candles if I can help it. I also remember that my old roommate’s burning candles often set off our ultra-sensitive smoke detectors.
  • An electric plate warmer heats tarts as well as fragrance oils and candles. The ceramic dish can be removed and you can stick a jar candle right on the heating surface.
  • The plate warmer heats a candle more evenly because the heated surface area that’s in contact with the candle is larger, so scent throw is better whereas a tea light or light bulb can only heat a smaller, more concentrated area of a candle.
  • An electric plate warmer is less fussy and cheaper in the long run because you don’t have to constantly buy new tea lights or light bulb replacements.
  • If you ever accidentally break the ceramic dish that comes with the plate warmer, you can easily replace it with any other ceramic bowl.
  • The detachable bowl means that you can have several scents in rotation. If you get bored with a fragrance, you don’t have to wait for the tart to cool and harden before you change the scent. You can easily swap out one bowl for another bowl that holds a different fragrance right away.
  • Tarts are cheaper than scented candles. You can get tarts from etailers or companies like Yankee Candle and Better Homes & Gardens for around $2 apiece.

I specifically chose the Sandstone candle warmer from Candle Warmers, Etc. because it’s UL safety approved to operate at 24 watts and the reviews I’ve seen for this warmer have all been very positive. From what I’ve heard and read, using a 24 watt plate warmer is equivalent to using a 40 watt lightbulb warmer; the scent throw is supposed to be amazingly intense. A lot of other electric plate warmers only operate at 20 watts or less so they don’t heat up as much or as quickly, and don’t produce as good a scent throw.

I got my warmer from amazon.com for $13.99 although you can purchase it directly from the Candle Warmers, Etc. website, too. I bought $25 worth of Amazon.com merchandise so I met the Free Super Saver shipping minimum and used a $25 gift card, so I only had to pay tax. Awesome!

I already have a few tarts on their way to me in the mail and I can’t wait to try them all out.

Candle Warmers, Etc. ceramic candle warmer & dish (Sandstone)

Candle Warmers, Etc. ceramic candle warmer & dish (Sandstone)

In the photo below, you can see that they removed the ceramic dish and placed a glass jar candle directly on the plate warmer.

Candle Warmers, Etc. ceramic candle warmer & dish (Sandstone)

Candle Warmers, Etc. ceramic candle warmer & dish (Sandstone)

Candle Warmers, Etc. ceramic candle warmer & dish (Sandstone)

Candle Warmers, Etc. ceramic candle warmer & dish (Sandstone)

2 thoughts on “Candle Warmers, Etc. – Ceramic Candle Warmer & Dish

Comments are closed.