CVS Milani Clearance and Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter

Milani Clearance and Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter

I headed over to CVS today to check out the Milani clearance sale that I’ve seen mentioned by a lot of vloggers and bloggers recently. I was prepared to be disappointed and expected everything to be wiped out already but, amazingly, nothing in the Milani display at my CVS had a clearance sticker so the display was still almost completely full. Just in case, though, I double-checked the prices at the red scanner box and a lot of items were ringing up 75% off. I really lucked out.

I grabbed one each of the Milani Minerals blushes in Sweet Rose and Sunset Beach. I already have Mai Tai which I purchased years ago and I seriously contemplated getting the Minerals version of Luminous but the color looked really off and faded. I remember buying a Milani Smooth Finish Blush in Luminous (now discontinued) years ago. Back then, there were actually a few Luminous blushes in the display that had noticeably faded compared to the rest. It was the oddest thing. Maybe there’s something about the Luminous formula that causes it to fade over time. Or perhaps it’s a quality control issue where some come out a peachy pink and others come out a peachy beige.

I also purchased a Milani Neon nail polish in Techno Red as well as another Revlon Lip Butter, this time in the color Tutti Frutti. Revlon wasn’t on sale this week but the red scanner box/coupon machine printed out a 25% off coupon for me so I figured why not.

My total for the Milani clearance items and Revlon Lip Butter with tax came out to $6.88. Not too bad. That’s four items for less than the price of one Lip Butter.

Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter

Tutti Frutti was probably the Lip Butter I wanted to try the most out of all 20 shades. As you know, I’ve really become an orange fanatic. During the summer I was obsessed with finding the perfect orange cream blush — I still am — and lately I’ve been on the hunt for a great orange lip color.

Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter

Tutti Frutti is a glossy, bright orange color that doesn’t contain any shimmer, glitter or sparkle. The color is sheer but buildable.

Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter. Very soft consistency.

I own one other Revlon Lip Butter in Fig Jam and I have to say the formula of Tutti Frutti feels totally different. Fig Jam had a drier, harder texture whereas Tutti Frutti has a much softer consistency. I’ve never owned a Revlon ColorBurst lipstick (e.g. Soft Nude) but I’ve heard that those lipsticks are “too soft” and can get very messy in the tube. After trying Tutti Frutti I think I understand. It’s a very “smooshable” Lip Butter.

I never apply too much pressure when I swatch products, yet the tip of Tutti Frutti kind of broke off in chunks when I swiped it on the back of my hand. As you can see in the photo below, the swatch on the right looks chunky and uneven.

Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter: One swipe (left), Five swipes (right)

If you look closely, you can see that the color didn’t apply very evenly on my upper lip either.

Bare lip (left), Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter (right)

Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter (one swipe)

Super soft texture  and unevenness in application aside, I love the color! It’s bright but not scarily so and seems to work with my natural lip color  to create more of a coral color. I can already tell that Tutti Frutti will get a lot of use this spring and summer. I’ll just have to remember to either apply it with a lip brush or apply it straight from the tube but smooth it out on my lips with a fingertip to prevent clumping and streaking.

Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter (five swipes)

If you’re looking for a sheer orange lip color, and not necessarily a lip balm/butter because I don’t find the Revlon Lip Butters very moisturizing, I suggest trying Tutti Frutti. It needs a little patience but it’s such a gorgeous color. I’m kind of sad that every time I go to any store that has a Revlon Lip Butter display Tutti Frutti is the lone shade left. It seems that most people ignore it or are scared by the orange packaging. What a shame.

3 thoughts on “CVS Milani Clearance and Revlon Tutti Frutti Lip Butter

  1. Tutti Frutti caught my eye too. But from reading this I won’t be getting it. Being so soft, it really belongs in a pot and not a tube.
    I’m currently obsessed with orange lippies as well! Milani’s Mandarina is a gorgeous bold orange creme shade. And it’s on clearance! But I think you would hate the taste.

    What about Burt’s Bees Tinted Lipbalm in Tigerlily or Carmex Moisture plus tinted lip balm in peach or Revlon’s Super Lustrous in Siren or L’oreal’s Infallible Le Rouge in Coral Seduction. Told you I was obsessed! 😛

    • Oh, darn, I totally forgot to see if CVS had any Mandarina left! I was so focused on getting the blushes.

      Thanks for the awesome recs. I’ll definitely check those out. I had no idea Burt’s Bees had an orangey balm.

  2. Pingback: Revlon Lip Butter Fig Jam & L’Oreal Colour Riche Balm Plush Plum « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.