Red Lip Color Swatches

Jordana Sweet Strawberry, Absolute! Desire, Absolute! Fireworks, Nicka K Ruby Red, N.Y.C. 308B Retro Red, N.Y.C. 309B Sheer Red, N.Y.C. Blood Red, Palladio Rosey, Revlon Love That Red, Rimmel Rose Passion, Shiseido RD304 Sweet Pea, Wet n Wild 509A Cinnamon, Wet n Wild 514A Cherry Frost, Wet n Wild 519A Hot Red, Wet n Wild 522A Dark Wine, Wet n Wild 529B Copper Dust

Happy Chinese New Year/Lunar New Year! The first day was yesterday so I’m a day late with my greeting but it’s a 15-day celebration so it’s okay 😉

In preparation for the holiday I painted my nails with what I thought was a red nail polish but turned out to be more of a reddish orange. Blame it on dim, nighttime indoor lighting.

I also did some major cleaning and purging. I got rid of a lot of lip products, mostly lip glosses, that had gone bad. Note to self: don’t buy Jordana and Milani lip glosses anymore. I bought the majority of the Jordana glosses within the past year at several different stores and the textures and scents had all changed within that time. These were the regular Jordana lip glosses, the InColor Pretty Shine lip glosses, and the InColor LipShine Glaze Brush On glosses. I also had to toss two Milani Crystal glosses that had gone rancid. Thankfully I haven’t had any issues with the Jordana/Milani lipsticks. It seems to be just the glosses that spoil quickly.

Red in Chinese culture’s supposed to symbolize good fortune, luck, and all that good stuff, and since I was cleaning and sorting my stash I figured that now would be the perfect time to swatch some red lippies.

Reds

Top row: Jordana Sweet Strawberry, Absolute! Desire, Absolute! Fireworks, Nicka K Ruby Red, N.Y.C. 308B Retro Red, N.Y.C. 309B Sheer Red, N.Y.C. Blood Red, Palladio Rosey, Revlon Love That Red, Rimmel Rose Passion, Shiseido RD304 Sweet Pea

Bottom row: Wet n Wild 509A Cinnamon, Wet n Wild 514A Cherry Frost, Wet n Wild 519A Hot Red, Wet n Wild 522A Dark Wine, Wet n Wild 529B Copper Dust

I don’t often wear lipsticks so the majority of my red lip colors are inexpensive drugstore products. I know that the N.Y.C. Ultra Moist lipsticks in Sheer Red and Retro Red have a cult following but my favorite red lipstick is the equally cheap Wet n Wild lipstick in 509A Cinnamon ($0.99). Actually, Wet n Wild has some great reds in their Silk Finish line. I don’t know why they don’t get more love because the scent (wet n wild lipsticks aren’t as strongly scented as N.Y.C.’s), texture and price of their Silk Finish lipsticks are pretty similar to N.Y.C.’s 99 cent Ultra Moist lipsticks.

I probably shouldn’t have included Wet n Wild 522A Dark Wine with the reds. It looks a lot deeper and wine/berry-ish compared to the rest of the swatches.

Jordana Sweet Strawberry, Absolute! Desire, Absolute! Fireworks, Nicka K Ruby Red, N.Y.C. 308B Retro Red, N.Y.C. 309B Sheer Red, N.Y.C. Blood Red, Palladio Rosey, Revlon Love That Red, Rimmel Rose Passion, Shiseido RD304 Sweet Pea, Wet n Wild 509A Cinnamon, Wet n Wild 514A Cherry Frost, Wet n Wild 519A Hot Red, Wet n Wild 522A Dark Wine, Wet n Wild 529B Copper Dust

Jordana Sweet Strawberry, Absolute! Desire, Absolute! Fireworks, Nicka K Ruby Red, N.Y.C. 308B Retro Red, N.Y.C. 309B Sheer Red, N.Y.C. Blood Red, Palladio Rosey

Palladio Rosey, Revlon Love That Red, Rimmel Rose Passion, Shiseido RD304 Sweet Pea, Wet n Wild 509A Cinnamon, Wet n Wild 514A Cherry Frost, Wet n Wild 519A Hot Red, Wet n Wild 522A Dark Wine, Wet n Wild 529B Copper Dust

4 thoughts on “Red Lip Color Swatches

  1. You’re wonderfully thorough as usual! 😀

    I’ll definitely give Cinnamon a try now. The Revlon one really stands out to me too. Have you ever tried Revlon’s Colorburst lipgloss in Fire? I heard that it’s a really pigmented red gloss.

  2. Pingback: Pink Lip Color Swatches « Mimsy's Blog

  3. Pingback: Brown and Berry Lip Color Swatches « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.