L’Oreal Infallible 24 HR Eye Shadow – Iced Latte

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte

Man, I seem to be having terrible luck with all of the new drugstore items I’ve purchased lately. The Revlon Lip Butter in Fig Jam is a nice sheer lipstick but it isn’t the moisturizing, hydrating balm that the tv commercial advertises. And I liked the texture of the L’Oreal Colour Riche Balm in Plush Plum but, boy, does it taste awful! Still, I figured the third time’s the charm and I’d love the new L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadows. After all, they’ve been getting rave reviews all over the blogosphere.

Over a week ago, I finally found a full display of the L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadows at CVS. There were 12 shades available but I chose only one, Iced Latte, the shade I knew I’d use the most since I love eye brightening nudes/neutrals. The L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadows cost $8.49 (3.5 g / 0.12 oz) each.

The eyeshadow comes in a plastic screw-top container and the product itself is not a cream formula but a loosely pressed pigment. L’Oreal provides a grey, plastic plunger with which you can re-press/compact the pigment should it crumble, so you are advised not to throw the plunger away.

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte

Iced Latte is a champagne shade with a frosty finish. Touching the shadow with my finger the first time, it felt so soft. And swatched with a bare finger the finish and pigmentation looked amazing. It almost looks as if I’ve dipped my finger in liquid silk; it has such a beautiful sheen. But swatched on the back of my hand it was rather frosty/shimmery and definitely didn’t have the opacity and beautifully rich, metallic finish I originally expected from reading all the rave reviews. On the lids, it looked like any other frosty champagne powder eyeshadow. I wasn’t wowed. However, the main selling point of the Infallible shadows is supposed to be their longevity. I thought that would be how Iced Latte would redeem itself.

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte

I decided to give Iced Latte a road test today. Using my finger which I found gave the best color payoff, I applied two layers of Iced Latte onto my lids at 10 a.m. this morning. For this first experiment I chose not to use eye primer because I wanted to see how well the Infallible shadow worked on its own.

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte (Before: 10 a.m.)

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte (Before: 10 a.m.)

I went grocery shopping for about two hours and at noon I decided to check my makeup to see how the Infallible shadow was faring. A mere two hours after application, Iced Latte had completely disappeared from my lids…except for a few shimmer particles in my lashes and where it had bunched up in my crease.

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte (After 2 hours)

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte (After 2 hours)

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow - Iced Latte (After 2 hours)

I guess I’m not incredibly surprised by Iced Latte’s short wear time. My skin, including my eye lids, is super dry but I have a very small crease/eye fold. Most eye shadows — both cream and powder — tend to bunch up under there with or without eye primer. I expected a little more from the L’Oreal Infallible shadow but it didn’t even come close to achieving 24 hours of wear. I’m going to give Iced Latte another try with primer and I’ll report back if that goes any better. If not, back to the store it goes. I very rarely return products but $9 for a drugstore eyeshadow is a lot, especially for a product that doesn’t work, and that money could be put to better use elsewhere.

So I wanted a fuss-free, eye brightening product I could slap on in a hurry in the morning, and a product that requires eye primer, for me, is hardly fuss-free. I’m over the Infallible shadows. Iced Latte isn’t worth the (almost) nine bucks I paid for it. I suppose I’ve been spoiled by the e.l.f. Studio Cream Eyeshadows. They’re the only shadows that last on my eyes without eye primer.

I intend to pick up one of the Maybelline Eye Studio Color Tattoo 24HR Eyeshadows next. If their Dream Bouncy Blushes (which appear to be identical to the e.l.f. Studio Cream blushes) are any indication, I suspect that the Color Tattoo formula may be comparable to that of the e.l.f. Studio Cream shadows.

2 thoughts on “L’Oreal Infallible 24 HR Eye Shadow – Iced Latte

  1. I’m sorry to read that was your experience. Sometimes I fall asleep in them and they’re still mostly there in the morning. I guess it either works better on oily lids or the one you got was defective? At $9 I’m sure you’re not interested in repeating the experiment though.

Comments are closed.