Let’s hit up Magnolia and mack on some cupcakes

Magnolia cupcakes

My sister surprised me with some cupcakes from Magnolia Bakery. She got two red velvet cupcakes, a gingerbread cupcake, a German chocolate with coconut caramel pecan icing, and a couple of vanilla cupcakes.

Magnolia cupcakes

Now I’m sure that this “bakery’s got all the bomb frostings” but I’ve never been much of a frosting kind of gal. I’m more about the cake, and if I want a topping on my cake I prefer a lightly sweetened whipped cream, so the cult status of Magnolia escapes me. I’ve tried Magnolia cupcakes before as well as the ones from Crumbs Bake Shop, another popular cupcake hotspot, and I fail to understand the reason behind their popularity. The cupcakes at Crumbs are muffin-sized but really dense and dry, in my opinion, while the cupcakes at Magnolia are normal-sized but unspectacular. The frostings at both establishments are overly sweet and excessive. I can barely finish one cupcake at a single sitting because the sweetness of the icing is too overwhelming for my taste buds. I’m not even sure why either bakery even bothers making cupcakes when the cakes are really just vehicles for the frosting. I can barely taste the actual cake.

I was much more excited by the Godiva truffles sampler box my sis brought over. It contained one milk chocolate truffle, a dark chocolate truffle, a hazelnut praline truffle, and a double chocolate raspberry truffle. Yum! I devoured those bad boys in minutes 😛

Godiva chocolates

5 thoughts on “Let’s hit up Magnolia and mack on some cupcakes

  1. Daamn, there’s so much frosting that box lid is greasy! But I think all cupcakes are inherently prone to sweetness overkill. My teeth ache looking at them. I’m sure if you made your own, they’d be a hundred times better!

    I’m far more tempted by chocolates too. 🙂

    • The coconut caramel pecan icing was the worst offender. It looked and sounds great but omg sugar overload!

      Chocolate ftw!

  2. ugh why must you post this! We had their bananna pudding left over (about 1.5 quarts) from Saturday. We were saving it to enjoy between the 4 people in my immediate family, except that my dad ate all of it saturday night.
    I live fairly close to the city so could easily make it into the city. However, I have a rule against visiting this time of year, it just gets to packed.

    • Sorry lol. Mmmm…banana pudding. It’s one of the only things at Magnolia that’s worth getting IMO. I was kind of bummed that my sis got the cupcakes instead 😦

Comments are closed.