LÄRABAR – Cherry Pie

LÄRABAR - Cherry Pie

I received a complimentary LÄRABAR to test and review through my participation in the Influenster VoxBox program.

What they say:

LÄRABAR is a delicious blend of unsweetened fruits, nuts and spices. Made from whole food, each flavor contains no more than nine ingredients. Pure and simple, just as nature intended.

Gluten-free. Dairy-free. Soy free. Non-GMO (genetically modified organism). Vegan. Kosher.

Only 2-9 ingredients per bar.

Just fruits, nuts & spices, and three with Fair Trade Certified Chocolate.

19 indulgent LÄRABAR flavors.

I’m a huge fan of fruit, nut and granola bars such as Nature Valley, SoyJoy, and KIND bars so I was really excited to try LÄRABAR’s version. But I must admit that when I first laid eyes on the LÄRABAR in my VoxBox I was a little disappointed. It was tiny! The VoxBox items I’ve been sent in the past have all been full sized so I naturally assumed that my LÄRABAR was too. But after visiting the LÄRABAR website I discovered that a regular sized bar is 1.7 oz/48 g whereas the bar that was included in my kit’s only 0.78 oz/22 g. I wish Influenster had mentioned that they’d be sending what amounts to a little less than half of a regular bar. I felt much better after realizing that I had received a sample sized bar because if a store tried to sell me a 0.78 oz sized bar as “full size” I’d feel swindled.

LÄRABAR - Cherry Pie

As you can see, the bar I received is about the size of a Snickers “Fun Size” candy bar.

The flavor I was sent is Cherry Pie which is described as:

Tart and tasty, chewy, but not ooey or gooey, our Cherry Pie contains 1 full serving of fruit, 5 grams of fiber and 5 grams of protein. The simple, 3-ingredient mix of unsweetened cherries, dates and almonds, packs a big flavor with a dollop of fun.

LÄRABAR - Cherry Pie

I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that I don’t have much of a sweet tooth. Chocolate is the exception but for the most part I enjoy salty or sour snacks. My top two favorite desserts are lemon tart and sour cherry pie, in that order, so a Cherry Pie flavored LÄRABAR sounded like it had been specifically created with my tastes in mind.

Compared to other fruit and nut bars, the Cherry Pie LÄRABAR contains a lot more fruit so it’s not hard and crunchy like Nature Valley granola bars or even KIND fruit & nut bars. It’s more similar to a SoyJoy bar in that it has a chewy consistency but it’s a lot more moist compared to a SoyJoy bar. I’ve never come across a cherry pie that contains almonds so the nuts in the LÄRABAR came as a pleasant surprise; they add interest and texture to an otherwise soft fruit bar.

LÄRABAR - Cherry Pie

One thing I must say about the Cherry Pie bar is if you do have a sweet tooth this probably isn’t the flavor for you because it’s very tart. I love sour things but even I was a little surprised by how tangy it is. Most fruit and nut bars have some kind of sweetener — sugar, honey, etc. — but the LÄRABAR is truly all-natural and without any additional sweeteners. However, if you enjoy eating sour cherries or dried cranberries like I do then you’ll probably like Cherry Pie, too. It has a very clean, natural sour cherry flavor. Yum!

Another thing about the LÄRABAR is how filling it is. I typically like to snack in between meals so I ate the Cherry Pie bar before dinner one night, and I was surprised when hours later I still didn’t feel hungry. And that was only the sample size! I can imagine a regular sized bar as a great on-the-go breakfast, an after-workout snack bar, the perfect snack bar for long hikes, or just a filling snack for whenever you have the munchies.

I had never heard of LÄRABAR before participating in the Influenster Holiday VoxBox program and I’m pretty sure I’ve never come across the brand in stores. I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled the next time I’m out grocery shopping because I’m interested in trying some of their other flavors out.

Besides Cherry Pie, the other flavors available are:

Apple Pie, Banana Bread, Blueberry Muffin, Carrot Cake, Cashew  Cookie, Chocolate Chip Brownie, Chocolate Chip Cherry Torte, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, Chocolate Coconut Chew, Coconut Cream Pie, Ginger Snap, Key Lime Pie, Lemon Bar, Peanut Butter & Jelly, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter Cookie, Pecan Pie, Tropical Fruit Tart

As you can probably guess, I’ve got my eye on the Chocolate Chip Cherry Torte, Key Lime Pie, and Lemon Bar flavors.

