Nicka K HD Eyeshadows – Gotta Catch ‘Em All! – Part 2

Nicka K HD Eyeshadows

Nicka K HD Eyeshadows are a beauty supply gem that I think everyone should try at least once. At $1-$3 each they’re incredibly cheap and you get a substantial amount of product (0.14 oz/4 g) per pan. These pressed powder eyeshadows are available in 42 shades ranging from neutrals to brights and shimmers and mattes, and with very few exceptions the formula is creamy smooth and incredibly pigmented. You can usually find these shadows at independent beauty supply stores or buy them directly from Nicka K’s website.

I stop by my local beauty supply store a couple of times a month and I walk out each time with at least one new Nicka K HD shadow. It’s become quite an addictive habit and I currently own 17 out of 42 shades. I probably won’t buy every single shade since there are some colors that I don’t think would suit me. However, I plan on grabbing the golds and greens eventually.

I found the following swatch photo on the Nicka K website (before they redesigned it) and saved it to my computer. Every time I buy a new HD shade I cross it off of this list. I also have a printed copy in my purse because there have been a few times in the past I’ve forgotten which shades I already own and purchased the same color again. It’s difficult keeping track of the shades I have because the HD shadows are labelled with 4-digit numbers, not by color name. I mainly use this photo as a shopping list and not as a color guide because the swatches in the photo are not very accurate at all. Nicka K redesigned and relaunched their website recently and their new swatch photos for the HD shadows are now a lot more true to life.

Nicka K HD Eyeshadows

I’ve swatched Nicka K HD shadows on my blog before but I’ve bought several new colors since the last time I wrote about them and thought I would swatch everything all together. This time around I wanted to take some close-up shots so you could get a better look at the colors and finishes on each shadow but that resulted in way too many photos to fit in one blog entry, so I’ll be dividing the photos up into four separate posts.

I’ve personally had the best experiences with the darker shimmer/metallic shades HD shades which tend to be super creamy, super pigmented and a dream to apply. The matte and light shades have been a little problematic in my experience; the formula’s drier, a little less pigmented and I don’t think the texture’s as smooth. If you’re considering venturing into the Nicka K world of HD shadows, definitely start off with the mid-to-dark shimmer/metallic shades because they’re fab!

Left to right: 3005, 3007, 3008, 3009, 3012, 3013, 3014, 3015, 3016, 3017, 3018, 3019, 3020, 3027, 3032, 3033, 3034

Nicka K HD Eyeshadow - 3012

Nicka K HD Eyeshadow - 3013

Nicka K HD Eyeshadow - 3014

Nicka K HD Eyeshadow - 3015

Left to right: 3012, 3013, 3014, 3015

Left to right: 3005, 3007, 3008, 3009, 3012, 3013, 3014

Left to right: 3013, 3014, 3015, 3016, 3017, 3018

