I’m a mag-aholic!

W, Whole Living, Woman's Day, Martha Stewart Living, Real Simple, Better Homes and Gardens, Time Out New York, Soap Opera Weekly, Us Weekly, Entertainment Weekly, Seventeen, Soap Opera Digest, Everyday Food, Marie Claire, Allure, Lucky, InStyle

Other current subscriptions not pictured: Martha Stewart Weddings, OK!, People, Harper’s Bazaar, Shape, Self, Elle

I recently came to the realization that I’m subscribed to a crap ton of magazines. I pay for a handful of subscriptions myself and the rest are gift subscriptions from various friends/family members. Everyone knows that I love magazines. It doesn’t matter what the subject matter is, I’m willing to give any publication a try. For example, I have gift subscriptions for the Martha Stewart Weddings and Bridal Guide magazines but I have no plans to get married. I simply like looking at pretty dresses and decorations ๐Ÿ˜›

Gift subscriptions are a great way to sample various magazines for free. Some magazines I love so much that I’ll continue to pay for them myself when the gift subscription runs out. Others I’ll discontinue when they run out. For example, I wasn’t such a big fan of Spin, Rolling Stone, Town & Country, Reader’s Digest, Star magazine, and Bridal Guide.

The magazines that I’ll continue to subscribe to in the future are: Martha Stewart Living, Everyday Food, InStyle, Seventeen, Marie Claire, and Us Weekly.

Martha Stewart Living is awesomesauce! A lot of other magazines like Better Homes and Gardens, Redbook, Woman’s Day, Real Simple, etc. cover the lifestyle/home decor/DIY/cooking genres but no one does it like Martha. The styling and photography of the food and products in her magazine are top notch. Even the quality of the paper used for her magazine is better; it feels substantial and glossy, not cheap, thin and matte like others.

Everyday Food is published by the same people behind Martha Stewart magazine and basically contains loads of recipes for the home cook and nothing else. It’s great for when you’re out of ideas for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

I’ve been a long time subscriber of Allure and Lucky but when my subscription ends in a couple of months I won’t be renewing. Allure’s gotten pretty light in content over the years and Lucky reads likes a series of ads. I’ve been subscribed to Marie Claire for the past year and I’ll be sticking with it instead. Marie Claire, while covering fashion, beauty and style like Allure, also has some really interesting articles. MC has more of a global perspective when it comes to women’s issues and beauty which I really dig. I love how the magazine features stories about women all over the world; it really gives insight into different cultures, world and health issues, and international standards of beauty.

InStyle is in the same vein as Lucky but so much better in my opinion. Never mind the fact that InStyle usually contains double the content of Lucky; it features far more products with fewer ads and has a larger beauty section. I feel that InStyle includes more helpful information about products whereas Lucky is more like a catalog of product prices.

Now most people would probably blow off Seventeen magazine. It does contain a lot of fluff pieces about the current teen heartthrobs and whatnot but that’s not why I like it. The editors of Seventeen know that most of their readers won’t be able to afford high-end brands on a regular basis, so their magazine tends to feature products that won’t break the bank. They recommend everything from drugstore brands like e.l.f. and Revlon to mid-range brands like MAC with an occasional sprinkling of more expensive brands like NARS or Chanel thrown in. Some of their fashion is a little too teeny bopperish but they oftentimes recommend affordable yet cute/trendy basics that anyone can wear regardless of age. As for shoes, bags, and accessories, I think many people are always on the lookout for inexpensive options and cheaper dupes. I mean if I can get a $10 knockoff of a $400 ring that I know I’ll only wear for one season, why not? They also often have great and easy DIY ideas like how to make your own fashionable tops and accessories, and most of them actually look really wearable and cute. If you can look past the whole teen image of the magazine, Seventeen is a great source for affordable fashion and beauty items.

I love me some juicy gossip! I’ve subscribed to OK!, Star, National Enquirer and People but Us Weekly is my favorite of the tabloid genre. OK!, Star and National Enquirer are a little too trashy for me and I can never take what they say seriously. People, in my opinion, tries a little too hard to be taken seriously with their articles but comes out a little boring. I feel Us Weekly is the most balanced; its not so trashy that its gossip lacks believability but it doesn’t take itself too seriously either.

The rest of the magazines I’m subscribed to I’m either still on the fence about or I won’t be renewing in the future.

W magazine is basically a large photo book. It’s an oversized magazine featuring celebrities in photo vignettes. There are a few articles but it’s really about the pretty pictures.

Whole Living is okay but not a must have. It’s another Martha Stewart publication but with an emphasis on healthy living. I feel I get everything I need from Everyday Food and Martha Stewart Living already so Whole Living is not a necessity for me.

Real Simple is a Martha Stewart Living wannabe in my opinion but it just doesn’t compare. Their ideas, layout and photography aren’t up to MSL’s level.

Time Out New York is great if you’re a city dweller who loves exploring Manhattan. It features the best and newest places to eat, entertainment ideas and hotspots, various shopping venues, and upcoming events. I’m more of a homebody so I’m definitely not their target audience but it’s always great knowing what’s going on in the city. I think it’s a fantastic magazine for the urban social butterfly and foodie.

Town & Country is too froufrou for me. I would describe this magazine as the wealthy showing off their wealth to their target audience, other wealthy people. It features the mansions and villas of the rich, the weddings of the rich, and everything else about living the good life. It’s also the only magazine I subscribe to that never offers manufacturer coupons. Yeah, can you imagine a coupon for a diamond encrusted choker? LOL Seriously, though, 80% of the ads in the magazine feature gemstone necklaces, diamond rings and jewel encrusted watches.

Shape and Self I’ll be discontinuing without question. I’m not really interested in fitness or healthy living but it was interesting learning some of the tips and tricks from people who are.

I’ve only been subscribed to Elle and Harper’s Bazaar for a couple of months so I’m still on the fence with them. It doesn’t look likely that I’ll be sticking with them though. I feel like Marie Claire, InStyle and Seventeen have me covered on the beauty and fashion front.

As for Entertainment Weekly, I like how they discuss everything from movies and tv shows to books and music but I haven’t yet decided if I love it enough to keep subscribing.

Sadly, I won’t be continuing with Soap Opera Digest and Soap Opera Weekly magazines because ABC killed my soaps! I only subscribed in the first place because I was a longtime fan of All My Children and One Life to Live. But since both shows have been canceled there’s really no point in renewing SOD/SOW ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I may continue with Martha Stewart Weddings. In short, it’s page after page of prettiness, femininity, and a little girl’s dress-up fantasies come true!ย And the drool-worthy photos of hors d’oeuvres and wedding cakes certainly help. Martha Stewart Weddings is loads better than Bridal Guide. The dresses and decorations in Bridal Guide pale in comparison to the ones featured in MSW.

What are you subscribed to? Let me know, especially if it’s something I haven’t already mentioned ๐Ÿ˜€

P.S. In case you’re wondering what happens to the magazines after I’m done reading them, I actually donate them to my doctor’s office. I think almost everyone knows the feeling of being stuck in the waiting room with nothing except news and finance magazines to read. What a snooze. No offense to those who like them but I find those magazines quite boring.

3 thoughts on “I’m a mag-aholic!

  1. Martha S can do no wrong, IMHO.
    I also like Cook’s Illustrated, but it’s pricey!

    Give Teen Vogue a try! They have fun features on inspirational young women and cute fashion spreads. Best of all, subscriptions are cheap and it’s small enough to tuck into a handbag. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Martha FTW! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I love Cook’s Illustrated. I had a couple of trial issues but, like you said, too pricey.
      My Elle subscription is almost up so I’ll give Teen Vogue a try next. Thanks for the rec!

Comments are closed.