Coastal Scents Bright Eyed Eye Brightener – Ivory

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed Eye Brightener – Ivory

I’m sure most of you are already subscribed to emilynoel83’s YouTube channel and/or following her Beauty Broadcast blog. If you are, you’ve heard her rave about the Coastal Scents’ Bright Eyed eye brightener. She’s rarely ever steered me wrong with a product recommendation, so when she raves about something I take note. The Bright Eyed eye brightener usually retails for $9.95 (20 ml/0.676 fl. oz.) on the Coastal Scents website so when they ran a 50% off Black Friday sale I jumped on the deal.

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed Eye Brightener – Ivory

The eye brightener has a very limited shade range. Out of the four shades they offer I chose the lightest color in Ivory. I’ve seen a lot of Emily’s past videos and it helped knowing that she uses MAC Pro Longwear foundation in NC35 and MAC Studio Finish concealer in NC25. Emily purchased the Coastal Scents Bright Eyed brightener in Light and Medium and found that Light was a great match for her. My coloring is NC10-15 currently and the darkest I get in the summertime is NC20, so I passed on Light and went straight for Ivory.

Emily describes the Bright Eyed in Light as having a peachy salmon tint whereas Medium is more flesh-toned. I would say that the Ivory tube I own has a peachy pinkish tint which is fine by me since I’ve had pretty good luck with pinker correctors brightening my dark circles.

Left to right: Revlon Age Defying Moisturizing Concealer (Light Medium), Maybelline Instant Age Rewind (Light), Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory), Pixi Correction Concentrate (Brightening Peach)

Left to right: Revlon Age Defying Moisturizing Concealer (Light Medium), Maybelline Instant Age Rewind (Light), Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory), Pixi Correction Concentrate (Brightening Peach), Cover Girl CG Smoothers (Light)

Let’s cut to the chase. How does it perform? In my humble opinion, the Coastal Scents Bright Eyed eye brightener does a fantastic job brightening under eye darkness. If you have normal to combo skin, maybe even oily skin, and no fine lines I can imagine this product working really well for you. If you have fine lines or very dry skin like me, it can work well too as long as you moisturize well beforehand and make sure not to apply too much of the brightener. The finish of this corrector is matte which isn’t the best concealer/corrector finish for my particular skin type. Applying too much can look cakey so for dry skin types only use the tiniest amount to ensure a smoother finish. I’m sure you can tell from the photos below that I used a too much of the brightener which isn’t very flattering. With the Coastal Scents brightener, less is definitely more.

ETA: I totally forgot to swatch my Rimmel Match Perfection Concealer/Highlighter for comparison. That one has sheerer coverage but it does a pretty good job at brightening and doesn’t look heavy or cakey like the Coastal Scents Bright Eyed. I’ll try to update this post with a comparison photo.

I took some Before and After photos to better illustrate my point. Keep in mind that this is the Coastal Scents brightener working all on its own. I haven’t topped it with a skin-tone concealer which is what I’d normally do after I apply a color corrector. That’s why I look like I have a Kim Kardashian reverse raccoon eye thing going on. I know some dig that look but I personally dislike when my under eye area looks significantly lighter than the rest of my face. I prefer when everything is balanced.

Bare face

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (left), bare eye (right)

I apologize for the blurriness. My camera never focuses properly when it’s cloudy. And since I don’t have studio lighting…T_T

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (unblended)

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (blended)

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed Eye Brightener – Ivory

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed Eye Brightener – Ivory

2 thoughts on “Coastal Scents Bright Eyed Eye Brightener – Ivory

    • No prob! 😀 I hope it works a lot better for you than it did for me. If only CS made a more moisturizing version it would be love!

Comments are closed.