Venus ProSkin MoistureRich Razor

The second new item I’ve been trying this month is the complimentary Venus ProSkin MoistureRich razor (retail price $9.79) which I received through my involvement with the Influenster VoxBox program. I’ve used several Gillette Venus razors in the past but it’s been awhile, and this was my first experience using this particular Venus model. Most recently, I had been using the Schick Quattro so I was interested in seeing how the Venus ProSkin compared. Also, I don’t usually go for razors with the soap/gel bars attached because I prefer to use a separate shaving gel.

The Proskin MoistureRich Razor contains three blades and, let me tell you, they are sharp! I was a little careless around my ankles and knees and I nicked myself in a couple of spots. However, it also gave me the closest shave out of any disposable razor I’ve used so far. Usually, two days into a shave I feel a little bit of leg stubble but with the ProSkin I didn’t feel any stubble until at least the fourth day. Color me impressed.

Venus ProSkin MoistureRich Razor

What Venus says:

Venus ProSkin MoistureRich Razor has shave gel bars enhanced with a triple blend of body butters, which create a layer of protection for your skin with every stroke. Plus, it features the trusted Venus three-blade technology for an ultra-close shave; our rounded, pivoting head for those hard-to-reach places; and an ergonomic handle for great control in wet, soapy environments.

BRAND ATTRIBUTES

  • #1-selling female shaving brand globally
  • Dramatically enhances the female shaving experience.
  • Offers every woman smooth, beautiful skin so she can look and feel like a goddess

The ProSkin comes with a little suction cup thingy that allows me to stick the razor right onto my shower wall. It’s a handy little gadget since my shower area is very small and storage space is limited.

Venus ProSkin MoistureRich Razor

As I stated earlier, I’m generally not a fan of soap/gel bars on razors and, unfortunately, the ProSkin hasn’t changed my opinion on the matter. Gillette Venus calls it a shave gel bar but when the bar is dampened, it has a mucus-y texture on the skin. In the photo below, I hope you can see the “slime strings” connecting my fingers to the wet gel bar. The gel bar is supposed to contain “a triple blend of body butters” but it just makes my leg slippery when I shave, and I don’t think it really serves to condition or moisturize my skin.

Venus ProSkin MoistureRich Razor

Overall, I love the razor but could do without the slime bar. I’m going to make the switch from Schick because I loved the close shave the Venus gave me but instead of sticking with the Venus ProSkin MoistureRich razor I think I’ll go with with the Venus Original 3-blade razor or the Venus Embrace 5-blade razor, neither of which comes with a gel bar.

