Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser & Sensitive Daily Moisturizer

For the past month I’ve been using the cleanser and moisturizer from Burt’s Bees new Sensitive line of products. I received both products from BzzAgent. If you need more info about the organization I’ve already written a more in-depth blog post about my experiences here.

Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser & Sensitive Daily Moisturizer

Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser


I have dry to very dry skin and I was really excited to learn that the Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser is soap-free and contains naturally moisturizing oils and cotton plant extract. Foaming cleansers are generally much too harsh and drying for me, so cream cleansers are more suited for my particular needs. The cotton extract in the Burt’s Bees cleanser is supposed to moisturize, soften skin, even skin tone, and strengthen the natural protective function of the skin.

I was also happy to discover that the cleanser contains no added fragrance. Scents are so subjective. What may smell lovely to one person could give another person headaches. I don’t really mind fragrances in body soaps or lotions, but I don’t like them in my facial cleansers when it’s going to be right under my nose, literally.

Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser

Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser

To use, I dampen my face slightly with water. Just enough so it’s wet but not dripping. Then I squeeze out a generous pea-size amount of the off-white cream and spread it all over my face.

Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser

The cleanser has a thick, rich texture very reminiscent of cold cream.

Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser

Even though it contains oils, I find that the cleanser rinses off easily with water and doesn’t leave it greasy. My skin afterward is squeaky clean — my skin literally squeaks — but without the dry and uncomfortable tightness that I associate with foaming cleansers.

Burt's Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser

I think that the Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser is great but I would not recommend this as an all-in-one makeup remover/cleanser. I don’t usually wear a lot of makeup; most days I wear a little blush and under-eye concealer and that’s it. The Burt’s Bees cleanser removed the blush all right but it didn’t budge the concealer. In my opinion, it would be best to use a dedicated makeup remover or makeup remover wipe first, and then follow up with the Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser afterward.

The Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser would be perfect for teens with sensitive or dry skin just getting into skincare and women who wear very little or no makeup. Since the cleanser is unscented, it makes it more of a unisex product so it would be ideal for men, too. And as I said, it’s great as a follow-up cleanser to a regular makeup remover. On the days I wear makeup, I use the Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser after Philosophy Purity Made Simple Cleanser. And on the weekends when I don’t wear any makeup, I use the Burt’s Bees cleanser alone.

XXXXXXXXXX

The other product from Burt’s Bees Sensitive line that I tried is their new Daily Moisturizer.

Burt's Bees Sensitive Daily Moisturizer

The Daily Moisturizer comes packaged in a little pump dispenser bottle that I know hygiene sticklers will appreciate, and just like the Facial Cleanser the Daily Moisturizer contains no added fragrance.

Burt's Bees Sensitive Daily Moisturizer

I use one full pump for my face and neck in the morning. The consistency is thick but it spreads and absorbs very quickly into the skin. Generally with thick face creams, it takes awhile to massage them into the skin and sink in but the Burt’s Bees soaks right in. It does, however, leave a bit of a residue on my face which if you’ve read my blog before you know that I don’t mind. I feel that when moisturizers leave a residue behind they prevent my skin from drying out better. My theory is they’re acting as a physical barrier between my skin and the air, and preventing moisture in my skin from escaping. I don’t know if that’s true but I use the Burt’s Bees Sensitive Daily Moisturizer after my serums and it does seem to seal in the moisture all day. All in all, I like it.

Burt's Bees Sensitive Daily Moisturizer

Here’s a look at the booklet that was included with my BzzKit. It contains more information about the ingredients in the products, a listing of all the products in Burt’s Bees Sensitive line, as well as the suggested retail price of everything in the line.

Burt's Bees Sensitive

Burt's Bees Sensitive

Burt's Bees Sensitive

Burt's Bees Sensitive

The BzzKit also included several generous samples of the Burt’s Bees Sensitive Daily Moisturizer with $1 off coupons on the back. I stuck a few in my purse and carried them around. If your friends and family are anything like mine they’re always asking for gum, tissues, or lotion. Whenever anyone asked for lotion, I gave them one of the Burt’s Bees samples. I know that it’s always great to read or hear about new products but nothing beats getting to try a product out for yourself. That’s why I always love free samples, so it was wonderful that Burt’s Bees and BzzAgent thought to include them in the kit.

Burt's Bees Sensitive samples

3 thoughts on “Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser & Sensitive Daily Moisturizer

    • I was surprised I was chosen to try the Burt’s Bees products but I’m still a little bummed about missing out on the Maybelline Baby Lips/Lots of Lashes campaign. I heard that each person got to try 4 or 5 of the tinted lip balms. Skincare’s all right but IMO makeup’s more fun 😉

  1. Pingback: Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Face Care « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.